Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
i am SO close to throwing my comp out the window right now. GRUB didn't even work a week this time. it only showed me my boot menu twice before ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    64

    Grub Loading Stage 1.5 prompt


    i am SO close to throwing my comp out the window right now. GRUB didn't even work a week this time. it only showed me my boot menu twice before it decided to do its usual act of:

    loading stage 1.5

    and then taking me to its command prompt.


    a working bootloader is the only thing holding me back from using linux (im using windows right now, i restored the windows mbr, the only mbr ive found which ALLWAYS works.)

    seeing as i now cannot get into linux, is there any way i can use a different bootloader (apart from lilo)?i'm willing to pay some money for a commercial one as long as it works. if there are no other bootloaders ill have to settle for windows

    i don't understand why the windows mbr allways allways allways works, yet i cannot get grub to even work for a week!

    Help!

    moderator note: title edited

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Firstly I'm sorry to hear you got this problem, makes me think it is a hardware thing due to the fact it's happened on both SuSE and Mepis.

    If your bootloader gets to a command prompt all is not lost. I don't know the details of your settup, but if you have installed mepis on /dev/hda3 then the following should boot it:
    Code:
    grub> root (hd0,2)
    grub> kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 
    grub> boot
    since grub has tab-complete you should be able to
    Code:
    grub> kernel /vm<tab>
    and it should bring up the kernel /vmlinuz-2.6 or somthing.

    Let me know how this goes, if it's not successful, we'll try another bootloader. THough I find it very strange that GRUB goes frob working to not working, is the naming of the drives dynamic or somthing? since I doubt you have been messing with your grub.conf file, it suggests the / partiton has changed it's name since grub was installed
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    25
    It does sound like it could be hardware related as it works sometimes but not others.

    Could it perhaps be due to a bad / old / out of steam battery on the motherboard, when it goes down it resets the bios defaults?
    Does it happen if you leave the comp for a while, as restarting soon after might still have some residual current left in the board?

    Hope you get it sorted.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    64
    well my setup is like this.

    windows is on hda1 and hdb5 linux root partition is on hdb3. how would i reinstall grub from windows? i had to put the windows mbr back to be able to use the cpu at all.

    when i was installing mepis, it gave me the choice of installing it on hda or hdb. should i try installing it on a different hd, or would that make no difference?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    If you want to reinstall grub look at http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-224.html.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    64
    lol that doesnt have instructions on reinstalling grub or anything. seeing as the windows boot loader allways works, is there any way i can edit boot.ini to give me the choice of which to edit?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    wrong link, try this one: http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-19999.html

    Too many FireFox tabs open
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    64
    i dont have a working floppy drive tho. im thinking about installing acronis os selector, it came with disk director which i bought to first partition my hard drive. maybe ill have more luck with that.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Well tell us how it goes.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    64
    as with everything bootloader related, it failed miserably. this was worst then grub, it didn't even detect linux. i'm having withdrawal symptons. i havent been in a linux for so long now!

    why, why does the ghost of bootloaders haunt me????!?!?

    Help please, i don;t want to have to live with windows for any longer!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •