Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hello, I bought a Dell SC420 P4 2.8Ghz especially for Fedora Core 4 and a php5 & MySQL testing ground and file server. I get Fedora Core 4 to boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10

    Display a mess on GUI load... Drivers possibly?


    Hello,

    I bought a Dell SC420 P4 2.8Ghz especially for Fedora Core 4 and a php5 & MySQL testing ground and file server.

    I get Fedora Core 4 to boot from the DVD and it all goes fine and until it tried to bring up the GUI which is a complete shambles!!

    So.. I installed Fedora in text mode which went perfectly. Then on first boot it is fine until it tries to show the GUI login screen.

    Basically the screen is a big mess and it looks like the fedora logo is tiled about 6 times across the top of the screen with all kinds of blue and green blocks.

    Can anyone help?

    I think I need to update he drivers maybe? The monitor is an LG 17 Inch Flat Screen but I don;t know about the graphics card... It is built into the motherboard.

    *** EDIT ***
    I used the Fedora Core 4 DVD ISO i386 should I have used x86_64?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Display a mess on GUI load... Drivers possibly?

    Quote Originally Posted by brooky
    *** EDIT ***
    I used the Fedora Core 4 DVD ISO i386 should I have used x86_64?
    No. Pentiums are "i686" which is backwards compatible with "i386", the version you downloaded. Pentiums will not work with X86_64. That is the specification for AMD64 and Intel EM64T processors only.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    Thats was a typo! Doh!

    I downloaded: Fedora Core 4 DVD ISO i686

    I have a deadline for tomorrow and need my code php to work with PHP5 and I am desparate to get this machine running. Does anyone know what I can do?

    I could run it without the GUI but would really prefer to have it.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    I phoned Dell and apparently I have an "Intel 7221 Integrated Video Controler"

    Does anyone know where I can get the drivers?!

    Apparently the server works with Red Hat Enterprise...

    Maybe CentOS will be the one to use.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    19
    NO, get trustix...

    Simple, Quick, Easy, Secure and Small...

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    oooh... intel... i used a HP with integrated Intel graphics before. let's put it this way, the Wintel relationship is not a myth. the screen wouldn't even show YaST! it was just a flickering mess! i couldn't install linux until i got my new machine with an nvidia car which worked great.

    i know it's not much help but Dell are in Intel's back pocket who are in turn in Bill Gates' back pocket.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    bugger.... well i installed it without windows X and any gui's.

    It's fine but I have a bit of comand line to learn.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    19
    You'll probably find it's ACPI autodetection going AWOL.

    There's probably some kernel parameter to pass at boot.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10
    How would I go about doing that?

    I'm gona try and install CENT OS as its enterprise red hat which is supposed to work on this server. According to Dell.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •