Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm completely new to Linux--or if I hope to be, once I get it to work on my computer.... I know this is probably the most common problem newbies ask ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't dual boot FC4 & XP

I'm completely new to Linux--or if I hope to be, once I get it to work on my computer....

I know this is probably the most common problem newbies ask about, but I SWEAR I've read up on this a lot, and I can't figure it out.

I went through the install process for FC4 without any problems, and I had it install grub in the MBR (/dev/hda). But when I reboot, it just loads XP like nothing happened.

I've also tried going through the process, but putting grub in /dev/hdb1 (the other option). Same deal.

I have 2 hard drives on my system, with FC4 going on /dev/hdb (but they're both huge (200 and 160 GB) so I wouldn't be averse to partitioning one and installing everything on it, if that would help.

I don't know if any of these factors could be causing problems, but I'll lay them out on the table, just in case they're relevant:
    1. I have a Gateway (I've heard there can be problems with Gateways, but I don't know what these 'problems' are).
    2. The factory settings on the computer have system recovery files in a separate partition (/dev/hda2)--could the bootloader be confused about which partition it belongs in?
    3. I have Win XP Media Center Edition--I can't imagine why this would matter.
    4. Anytime I try to install FC4 (I've tried about 4 times), when I finally reboot, the computer "kind of" restarts, ie it turns back on, but nothing comes up on the screen. So I have to manually power down, turn off my power strip, and restart. Same thing happens when I run Knoppix from a CD-ROM. No such problem rebooting from XP, so I suspect it's Linux-related, but I'm clueless.