Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Is it possable for somebody as dumb as me to get a good free install of linux

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes! linux is for everybody

    8 66.67%
  • no! real windows users are to dumb for linux

    0 0%
  • maybe, but not like this.

    3 25.00%
  • only programers should use linux.

    1 8.33%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Ok heres what I would like to do. I have one win 2000pro main computor with an extra empty one gig harddrive. I have one winXP5 win 98 laptop with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    36

    hold my hand on linux install


    Ok heres what I would like to do. I have one win 2000pro main computor with an extra empty one gig harddrive.
    I have one winXP5 win 98 laptop with extra 850 meg empty hardrive.
    One redhat linux 5.2 cd "the real thing from linux not a downloaded or burned copy"
    I am downloading suse from ftp.suse.com as I write this.

    I want to disconect my harddrive with win 2000 and connect extra harddrive install 5.2 on hardrive
    connect extra laptop drive as second drive on now 5.2 machine prepare extra laptop drive to install suse
    Get enough files on extra laptop drive to install networking to the point I can install suse from new 5.2 machine. or www.suse.com

    I want to install suse on a winxp5 laptop that has no cdrom and the floppy does not work right.

    Please I know I am an Idiot when It comes to linux and I know where the faq's and man pages are and I have already read them and still do not know how to do this.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    27
    Why are you installing an old version of red hat ?
    You can install onto the xp machine without disconnecting the hard drive, just state you want to install onto hdb and not hda ( where your winbloze install is). In fact why not just install suse on the xp machine?
    Goto www.tldp.org for help also.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    36

    been there done that

    Already tried loading linux with win2000 in machine ended up wiping win2000 harddrive. Will not attempt that again.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You should, really. It's by far the easiest way to do it. As long as you don't use any automatic partitioning tool or delete any partitions, you Windows filesystems will remain intact.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    36
    Ok! I got linux 5.2 loaded, kinda,sorta.
    It's not a good install,but with a bootdisk it does boot so I gues that makes it a working install.
    ok! first two things is XWindows and one of my two ethernet cards.
    If I understand this right if I can get them working I should be able to go on the net and upgrade redhat. I s that right.
    The belkin comes with linux drivers. at the end of this post I put that info and try to do a module install.
    Also this redhat came with two more disks I had forgot about,maybe thats where Xfree86 is. any advise on installing that.
    Oh one more thing anybody know how to setup rr cable.
    somebody is bound to have cable on lynux.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    36
    Belkin Components
    F5D5000 PCI Card / Desktop Network PCI Card
    Driver Installation for LINUX

    Contents:
    ---------
    A) Driver Installation by Using Bundled Driver
    B) Driver Installation by Using Compiled Driver

    A) Driver Installation by Using Bundled Driver
    ===========================================
    Some LINUX kernels had supported rtl8139 NIC. You can check whether
    rtl8139.o exists or not. If your LINUX (ex. RedHat 6.1 or above) can
    auto-detect rtl8139 NIC, you just skip the following installations and
    follow the screen's instructions to install rtl8139.o driver directly.

    1. Check the driver file "/lib/modules/2.0.XX/net/rtl8139.o".
    Where the XX is the version number of the latest kernel.

    2. Add "alias eth0 rtl8139" into the /etc/conf.modules file.

    cd /etc
    vi conf.modules
    alias eth0 rtl8139

    3. Run the following commands at the LINUX prompt.

    modprobe rtl8139

    ifconfig eth0 192.74.53.10

    4. Now, you can run 'ifconfig' or 'netstat -i' to see if there is a
    interface 'eth0'.


    Other Installation Method
    -------------------------
    RedHat 6.x
    - Run "linuxconf" to setup your card.

    Select Networking -> Client tasks -> Basic host information
    -> Click Adaptor 1 to configure your adapter

    For example:

    Click "Enabled" (i.e. enable "Activate interface at boot time")

    IP address 192.74.53.10
    Netmask 255.255.255.0
    Net device eth0
    Kernel module rtl8139
    I/O port
    Irq

    - Save the changes and run "shutdown -r now" to reboot the system.


    Slackware:
    - Add "alias eth0 rtl8139" into the /etc/conf.modules file.
    - Run netconfig to configure IP.
    - Modify /etc/rc.d/rc.modules:
    Add one line: /sbin/modprobe rtl8139


    B) Driver Installation by Using Compiled Driver
    ============================================
    Below are the instructions for installing linux driver. You must complie
    the source code to generate rtl8139.o and use "insmod" to insert rtl8139.o
    as module. You can use "netconfig" utilities to setup network parameters
    for the driver.

    Files Description:
    ------------------
    rtl8139.c The adapter source code. You can download the newest version
    from http://www.scyld.com/network/rtl8139.html.
    trans Compile batch file.
    linux.txt This file.

    Installation:
    -------------
    1. Plug F5D5000 PCI Card into PC's PCI-bus slot.

    2. Boot into LINUX and keyin the following commands at the LINUX prompt.
    Remember, LINUX is case sensitive.

    mkdir /temp
    mcopy a:/linux/rtl8139.c /temp
    (Copied from LINUX directory of the driver diskette.)
    ("mcopy" is the mtools. If you don't have mtools, you can
    mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt and use cp command)
    mcopy a:/linux/trans /temp
    cd /temp
    chmod 777 trans

    3. Run trans file to complie and copy driver to linux source code:

    cd /temp
    ./trans

    (rtl8139.o will be generated and be copied to /usr/src/linux/modules.)

    4. Run netconfig (or netcfg) to set you network parameter (like ip, gateway).

    Slackware: Run "netconfig" to configure IP environment.
    This will create '/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1' and 'rc.inet2' files.

    netconfig


    RedHat:
    - Add "alias eth0 rtl8139" into the /etc/conf.modules file.
    cd /etc
    vi conf.modules
    alias eth0 rtl8139

    - Run "netcfg" in the xterm of X-window to configure IP environment.
    startx
    netcfg
    (Configure IP of eth0 and enable "Activate interface at boot time".)


    5. Use editor vi to modify 'rc.inet1'(or 'rc') in the /etc/rc.d directory to
    insmod driver. This file will be run at boot time. You just add a line
    at the beginning of 'rc.inet1'(or 'rc').

    Slackware:
    cd /etc/rc.d
    vi rc.inet1
    insmod /usr/src/linux/modules/rtl8139.o

    RedHat: Add a line at the beginning of 'rc' file.
    cd /etc/rc.d
    vi rc
    insmod /usr/src/linux/modules/rtl8139.o

    6. Reboot the LINUX.

    reboot ( or shutdown -r now )

    When system boots, the driver will be loaded. Then the driver will
    scan I/O port to see if a card is there.
    (You can run 'dmesg' to see the boot message.)

    7. Run 'ifconfig' or 'netstat -i' to see if there is a interface 'eth0'.

    ----
    All trademarks or brand names mentioned are properties
    of their respective companies.

    

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    36
    Oh! well can't be done.
    thought linux might be an option

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I don't really understand why you don't just installe SuSE directly instead of going through RedHat?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    36
    A history lesson here first. back when I was running 486 comps and getting to the point where I could no longer deny I would soon have to upgrade to a newer comp. I ran across an os call linux. Joined a computor called Hall pc in houston Texas. A group who's main purpose seemed to be recycling old 486 with a usefull os. the hal pc thing is another storie but is connected. At a hal pc get together I met a rep from redhat linux. who was there to talk about the new version of linux from redhat. It was like a prerealease thing was not evan on the website yet. I paid to have him mail me a disk. when the disk came I loaded it. " now keep in mind that the reason that I needed the new 5.2 version is that the hardware list I gave him was suported in it but not the older version he was giving free disks of. I finally got the disks and loaded them and found out my vidio card would not work with it. I went out and bought a new vidio card with an s3 chip "$109" dollars because s3 is a chipset listed as working with linux. but redhat did not reconize the memory in this chip. and I only could get it to setup on 600x480 with xwindows. but my desktop was so big that I could not see the whole thing by moving it from side to side. Checked around the web found out that I needed two settings one for monitor and one for V desktop. did the change listed in the found article no diferance. Emailed the guy that wrote article explained the problam and what I had done so far. he sent the exact file I needed all I had to do is replace one with the other. Did not help a thing. gave up on that install. This is my fourth attempt. The last one I was jumping back and fourth between win and linux and messed up my win install. "with a $4000 data loss that I never recovered"

    I want to learn to do this. I want to run linux on a second machine. I have redhat 5.2 on cd and do not want to spend any money on what it would take to get suse from web to cd. or any linux for that matter.

    The first time I loaded linux I could do a lot of things from command line. this time I cannot evan get mycdrom or floppy to mount. I have the complete man pages printed plus the man pages on the redhat cd and my bookmarks are loaded with pages on linux. no cammand I can find does it.

    I have found a site www.slackware.com that has something called zipslack that they say runs on a dospartition that may be better for me. I am going to try installing that and building my modules for the redhat and go from there are maybe skip the redhat and do a internet install. I have all the linux drivers for this machine and my laptop.
    I just need to learn how to install them. And where to install them.

    Can or will you help me.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, the thing is that, as you surely are aware, RedHat 5.2 is really old, and as such it is very likely to be much harder to get to work properly, and I don't really think that anyone here really knows how it works. Those who actually have used it might not remember all of it.
    If you have broadband connection (you mentioned rr cable before, right?), then all the money you have to waste on getting a new version is on the CD-R disks that you have to buy. I would really recommend that solution instead. There has been much progress since RH5.2. Newer distros are much easier to install properly and also have support for much more hardware.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •