Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hi guys, well i finally installed redhat but i have a few questions. how do i run a .bin file? how do i run a .exe file? is linux faster ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

redhat installed. a few questions

hi guys,

well i finally installed redhat but i have a few questions.
    how do i run a .bin file?
    how do i run a .exe file?

is linux faster than windowsxp pro?

i cant connected to the redhat network.. why? says i cant register. so i log in a prev account. tells me i cant register that account. WTF?

and umm.. anything thing else i should know. like a defragment tool if there is any.. or any useful applications etc.

remember im only a newbie and i need your help!!

Linux Engineer
    1 post only thanks... can some1 lock the other 1 the same as this.

anyway, your questions.

to run most programs (biniaries) u just type their name at a terminal

to run windows exes u need to install wine.
    then run wine path_to_exe/prgram.exe

for 95%of things linux is much faster than xp.

anutilus (the gnome equivalent of explorer) is slightly slower, probably coz its got a whole lot of flashy graphics options.

by redhat network do u mean their tech support thing? i think u can only use that if u got a retail version. eg. u bought a RH cd from the shop.

Linux Enthusiast
    there is a command page at the link below, check it out.

yes it is possible to run .exe's thru wine in red hat 9, but it is a severe pain in the %$@$^$

no need to defrag, linux uses different file systems that are far superior to fat32 or ntfs.