Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
when i click on the (?) circle with question mark thingy ... it says my system isnt registered with the RHN ... but when I click on Register with RHN ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    North Island. New Zealand
    Posts
    7

    Linux Update in RedHat


    when i click on the (?) circle with question mark thingy ... it says my system isnt registered with the RHN ... but when I click on Register with RHN ... nothing happens ... so I cant register.

    And if i have to register with a product key, where do i find that? My dad purchased an AustralianPCWorldMinibook:Linux Pack, and I couldnt find a product key anywhere. ... I dont know what to do .. can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Do you have access to the internet?? You have to create a rhn-account on redhats homepage to be able to download and install redhat rpm-packages.
    Regards

    Andutt

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    North Island. New Zealand
    Posts
    7
    hmmm ... ok

    well is there anyway i can get it to download from Linux instead of in the web brouser ...
    im using 128k adsl ... so its always connected

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    u dotn HAVE to download stuff from redhat. rpm.pbone.net has rpms for alsmot everything

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    RHN has changed their SSL certificate, so you need to upgrade up2date to use it. See rhn.redhat.com for details.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    North Island. New Zealand
    Posts
    7
    ok thanks alot guys ... i will have a look at that

    thanks again
    Mark

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    uhhh i dont see a up2date for me it just has the src and ones for the i386 i have a 686 i dont think this matters but i dont want to mess anyhting up bu running it if it will soooo plz let me know

    fragment
    I00I0I

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    I dont really understand what you want?? Do you want to set up redhat up2date??
    Regards

    Andutt

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    yeah i need to update the ssl certiface its got the updates for a i386 but i have a Pentium centrino 2.0 when it boots it says its a i686 i dont really see the differance threre probally just stating its not a sun system or what ever but i just wanted to be sure befor i try to install it and mess something up (i seem to be go at that)

    fragment
    I00I0I

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Ah, then I get it. Yeah, you can safely install i386 RPMs. i686 is backwards compatible with i386; that's why most RPMs are released as i386.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •