Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Instead of doing a dual boot off of the same hard drive, can I install another hard drive and put Windows XP on one hard drive & Fedora Core 4 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    /Home
    Posts
    12

    Fedora Core 4 Install Question........


    Instead of doing a dual boot off of the same hard drive, can I install another hard drive and put Windows XP on one hard drive & Fedora Core 4 on the other? Will this work the same as if both were dual booting off of the same drive? Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You can certainly have two hard drives, with one OS on one and one on the other.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    /Home
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    You can certainly have two hard drives, with one OS on one and one on the other.

    Bryan
    Very nice thank you Bryan.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    No problem, just make sure to change your bootloader configuration files to reflect the changes or you will have problems.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45
    If you are dual booting one off of one hardrive one off the other, depending on which you want to boot off of that time, just change the BIOS

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    /Home
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    No problem, just make sure to change your bootloader configuration files to reflect the changes or you will have problems.

    Bryan

    Could you post an example for me? thank you in advance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •