Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Dolda, You are going to think I'm a dumb ass (and I will agree) but the whole problem was because I was trying to open /dev/cdrom instead of the mount ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    Error discovered


    Dolda,

    You are going to think I'm a dumb ass (and I will agree) but the whole problem was because I was trying to open /dev/cdrom instead of the mount directory /cdrom. Of course I'm not mounting an audio CD but nontheless, /cdrom I was supposed to look. So with all this commotion, I would really like to apologize for my sheer stupidity.
    The best things in life are free.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I'm sorry for saying so, but that actually is pretty funny. =)

    Anyway, I take it it's working now?

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    hey along these line i got a cd-rw/DVD combo my DVD does not work (mostly because i dont have C compiler...yet!!!) but anyway i dont need that to work i need my RW function to work it will bun CD's but it wont rewrite CD's i dont really matter too much as i can burn cds but its going to get expensive since my box does not have a floppy so cd-r's are the only way to get data off my box(its a laptop).


    fragment
    I00I0I

  4. #14
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Rewriting to a CDRW shouldn't be much of a problem. Do you have all the appropriate modules loaded or builtin to the kernel?
    The best things in life are free.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    i dont know im a noob i got xroast but that do do RW either its a DVD/CD-RW combo might that affect it ??

    how do i check if i have all the stuff loaded
    like i said i can bun no problem its the REWRITING i have a problem with


    fragment
    I00I0I

  6. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What happens when you try to rewrite CDs, and how do you go about doing it?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •