Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
aight. here's the scoop. I'm going to switch from suse9.2prof to PCLinuxOS.. heres my hd setup hda (19gb) hda1 (19gb) - FAT 32 - Windows 98 hdb (13gb) hdb1 (3gb) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    38

    PCLinuxOS


    aight. here's the scoop. I'm going to switch from suse9.2prof to PCLinuxOS.. heres my hd setup

    hda (19gb)
    hda1 (19gb) - FAT 32 - Windows 98
    hdb (13gb)
    hdb1 (3gb) - FAT 32 - Windows 98 My Documents
    hdb2 (9.7gb) - reiser - SuSE 9.2prof - SOON TO BE PCLOS
    hdb3 (300mb) - swap
    ------

    now i use norton ghost on hda.. BUT, whenever I restore hda (windows) it overwrites the MBR and therefore > grub/lilo

    now, in SUSE, i can use rescue/install dvd and boot the installed system, and rewrite the mbr.. how can i in pclos?? thanx..

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    You can use System Rescue CD (see sig) to reinstall GRUB or LILO.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    38
    Well thanks. But I am looking for a way to do it WITH the PcLinuxOS disc (its a live distro btw, u can just install it)...

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    On the package list it says it comes with LILO. If you want GRUB, you'll have to grab it from here, or mabye you can grab it with apt with "apt-get install grub".

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    38
    actually, i dont really care which.

    i just need to know how to get ANY once i restore the ghost..
    becuz norton overwrites the mbr to blank

    so i cant boot to linux cuz there is NO boot loader. how can i get it back w/o having to reinstall pclos?
    tx

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    You'll have to use a live CD like System Rescue CD since windowz can't execute GNU/Linux executables.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    38
    aight. thanks.. this isn't by any chance adam2 from irc.efnet.net is it?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Too far from the fridge
    Posts
    34
    Hehe... This is exactly the same switch I did on a laptop a few days ago. I just want to offer a few tips.
    Suse comes with GRUB. PCLOS by default comes with LILO. You will have problems overwriting the MBR with LILO. What I did was change to LILO in Suse first through YAST (bootloader config) and then do the install of PCLOS. When thats done you can apt-get GRUB from the repositories and switch to GRUB in the PCLOS control center.
    Be prepared for a fully functional (after a few apt-gets) multimedia center with all apps completely up to date!

    Just a question though. Why do you feel the need to restore hda on a regular basis. Is it getting borked by something? Perhaps a hardware problem?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •