Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, Im a student in year 12, unable to afford windows so i looked at cheaper alternatives. Linux sounded pretty good, supposedly free and faster then windows. I dont want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

help - First time linux user: What to get, how to use?

Hi,
    Im a student in year 12, unable to afford windows so i looked at cheaper alternatives. Linux sounded pretty good, supposedly free and faster then windows.

I dont want to sound ignorant, but i guess that is somewhat unavoidable. So if these questions have been asked before, just leave me with a link to previous threads.

1) What should I download: I need the system basically only for gaming, I want to be able to word process in my spare time, and probably also use adobe programs (Like: premier, aftereffects, pdf viewer and photoshop, for uni next year). So in otherwords, i would like to know what would be best for me to get, so that i can have my computer playing quake again in no time.

2) Any installation tips etc, stuff that i should look out for, any tweaks and the such. You know like the kind of thing that if you were with me, you would just run over quickly so that im not lost

Yeh, thats basically it I think. I dont really know what Im talking about, but im here for directions anyways

Thanks in advance.

edit: To refine this post a little more, will i also be able to play quake better in linux then in windows, considering that linux should be technically more efficient.

Also driver installation advice is also good ^_^;
    XP1800+ cpu
    a7s333 mobo
    gf4 ti4200
    40gig hdd
    8gig hdd (where ill install linux to use as learning but without cutting my other stuff out ^_~)
    /skythra

Just Joined!
    Hi,

For first-time Linux users, the best is to download Mandrake Linux 9.1 at http://www.mandrakesoft.com (Mandrake 9.2 will be released very soon).