Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, i'm very new with linux, now i install it (suse 9.3) with windows xp sp2, and i use partition magic to create partition and multiboot ( i try to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help pls

hi,
    i'm very new with linux, now i install it (suse 9.3) with windows xp sp2, and i use partition magic to create partition and multiboot ( i try to install linux at slave hdd), is it correct? i dont wanna make any mistake that will kill my pc....
    thanks.

::Split from another thread:: Please don't hijack threads.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Linux Guru
    Yeah, you don't want to kill your pc.
    Quote Originally Posted by enigmamachine
    ...i try to install linux at slave hdd...
    If you have XP on one drive and Linux on another drive (a real drive: connected to the same or a different cable), then you may not need to change the partitions. You only need to change the partitions if you want Windows and Linux on the same physical drive. Linux will need at least 5Gb to 15Gb depending on what programs you install with it.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Just Joined!

Re: help pls

Quote Originally Posted by enigmamachine
    hi, :roll:
    i'm very new with linux, now i install it (suse 9.3) with windows xp sp2, and i use partition magic to create partition and multiboot ( i try to install linux at slave hdd), is it correct? i dont wanna make any mistake that will kill my pc....
    thanks.
    Try this:
    http://www.geocities.com/dt2pc/distro.htm
    http://www.geocities.com/dt2pc/windows.htm
    http://www.geocities.com/dt2pc/linux.htm

Since you already have Windows installed, don't worry about the second step. If you are installing these onto different drives, just boot from the SuSE install disk, reformat the second drive.