Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im new to linux, just wondered if any one could offer me advice upon which version of linux i should opt for. i.e Red hat or mandrake etc. Also ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which version of linux?

Hi im new to linux, just wondered if any one could offer me advice upon which version of linux i should opt for. i.e Red hat or mandrake etc.

Also could u specify a url where it can be downloaded from...

Thanks.

Just Joined!

Re

it really depends on what you are going to set the computer to do. i have downloaded both the latest of Red Hat and Madrake.
    I would advise you to download Mandrake, as it is very easy to install first, so is Red Hat, but it set alot of things automatically, such as the server... also it is nice, but so is Red Hat.

Just flip a coin

you can download both from their websites

Just Joined!

Red hat is good but Mandrake is Best!!!!!!!!

it all depends on ur taste.
    Some pepal like REd Hat others like Mandrake.

i have worked on both and like Mandrake in particular. It configures more of the things itself and i feel is more appealing than REd hat.

but in the end it all depends on ur taste.

search in google for downloads and u'll have lot of options to download from.

chow

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Enthusiast
    Debian and Slackware are other good choices. Debian has probably the best updateable installation, and slackware has probably the most unix-like distribution. RedHat is most supported, and Mandrake is most user-friendly. That is about all I have to say about any of them. I use LFS since it is most configurable, and I need to always have something done to make it "better"
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Banned
    I "grew up" on Slackware, so that is my preference.
    We use Red Hat at my formal job, I cannot complain.

Just Joined!