Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I am brand new to Linux. I am trying to dual boot my Windows Xp SP2 with SUSE 9.3. I have a 200GB IDE HDD and only formatted 127GB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help with GRUB

Hi I am brand new to Linux. I am trying to dual boot my Windows Xp SP2 with SUSE 9.3. I have a 200GB IDE HDD and only formatted 127GB for windows. Windows running fine for some time now. I have around 75gb free and installed SUSE 9.3 Pro on the remaining space. However, after it installs, GRUB comes up and I can't see the option to pick what distro to use. I simply get error 18. I was reading up on this earlier but dont know how to fix it. I can not get a bios upgrade, its the newest one. I can boot into SUSE with the DVD and then go to install then go to boot distro. I eneded up using the windows xp disc to restore the MBR so I can load windows and delete the linux partitions. I am reinstalling SUSE but don't know how I'm going to bypass error 18 in GRUB.

Thanks

Linux Guru
    If you can use the CD to boot to your system, do that and then at a command line, do 'info grub'. You will see how to install Grub both to a floppy (assuming you have a floppy drive) and to the hard drive. With a Grub boot floppy, you will be able to boot to the Grub command line and then work from there. You will also be able to intall Grub to the hard drive with the floppy. Read nerderello's tutorial for more details.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Just Joined!
    k i reinstalled GRUB. Now I just don't now how to fix this error 18. I tried this on an older 13 Gig HDD with SuSE by itself and it all worked good. Unfortunately tho, i needed to give it back to my buddy (it was his). Hmm I dunno why I can't boot into GRUB.

it could be a damaged hard disk. if you haven't already, you can try the SuSE automatic repair and select the option to fix GRUB.