Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Sorry, but I'm coming up short. I don't know what to think about the order of your partitions or what Grub or XP might make of it. I was aware ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817

    Sorry, but I'm coming up short. I don't know what to think about the order of your partitions or what Grub or XP might make of it. I was aware that partition numbers don't have to be sequential, but I have no idea how reverse odering affects how things work. The first partition, which starts at sector 1 and goes to sector 225 is actually hda3 while hda1 is the 3rd partition, At least we do know that Grub recognises (hd0,2) to be hda3 as we would expect. So your booting XP using 'root (hd0,0)' is correct, I guess....

    Cabhan, does this make sense to you??
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Canada
    Posts
    29
    I'm not sure, but I think the "Partition table entries are not in disk order" means that the order of the results do not coincide with the actual order of the partitions and do not have to. That is just the order of the list. But I screwed up my comp and can't even run Linux with proper permission statuses so... lol. Believe it or not I'm liking Linux with the time I have to fool around while help comes along because I tried everything I could.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Central Canada
    Posts
    29
    Before I installed Linux I tried using PM 8.0 to partition my harddrive as swap[2GB],linux[10GB],winxp[rest] but according to the boot file, because it works, my harddrive is winxp,linux,swap

    Does that help anyone come up with something else I could try?

  4. #14
    den
    den is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    16
    i've had the same problem, and the solution was:
    i needed to add a little line in the grub.cong file:

    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
    #          root (hd0,3)
    #          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda4
    #          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda
    #boot=/dev/sda1
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,3)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.667)
    	root (hd0,3)
    	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667 ro root=LABEL=LINUX rhgb quiet
    	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img
    title Windows
    	unhide (hd0,0)
    	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    	chainloader +1
    after title Windows
    unhide (hd0,0)

    the partition was hidden before, and that's why it couldn't load.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by den
    after title Windows
    unhide (hd0,0)

    the partition was hidden before, and that's why it couldn't load.
    I have been searching for days to find solution for this problem.

    I don't know how to thank u man.
    You really made my day perfect.


  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4
    hello ,
    thanks for solution ,
    but after first booting windows correctly , i don't receive a menu to choice between linux or windows ,
    it's boot automaticly on windows ,

    any one have an idea ?

    can we change a system file type from 0*17 (hidden) to 0*07 ??

  7. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Quote Originally Posted by peppena
    any one have an idea ?

    can we change a system file type from 0*17 (hidden) to 0*07 ??
    I wouldn't change a file type (but I don't know if it would hurt or even do anything). Search the forums with keywords "dual boot Windows", because this has been discussed extensively. Basically, your BIOS must be set to boot the "correct" drive and that drive must have a correct bootloader configuration. Some prefer using Windows' bootlader which requires editing a file in Windows. Many of us prefer using Linux's bootloader (Grub, LILO or other). Either way works. Do some research and come back with questions.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4
    I parted my hard disk with PM8,
    I use grub for my dooble boot, at the beginning, Windows generated an error during launching:
    autochk not found...
    I found well that my Windows partition was in hidden, I then added
    unhide (hd0,2)
    to my grub.conf... just after, I succeeded in starting Windows correctly,
    and by starting again Windows, I do not have any more the choice to start on linux,

    how can regulate this Pb

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •