Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Try changing the root line to look like this: Code: root(hd0,5) Let us know......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733

    Try changing the root line to look like this:

    Code:
     root(hd0,5)
    Let us know...

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Hmmmm, didn't work. Still got Invalid system disk.

    I don't even think its reaching grub. Could there be a bios setting or faulty hardware that coule be causing this?

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Well I got good news. I fixed it.

    Turns out the IDE Cable was bad. Kinda strange how it installed fine but after replacing the IDE Cable it boots great.

    Thanks for your help though

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    default=0
    timeout=10
    # splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title White Box Enterprise Linux (2.4.21-4.EL)
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-4.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.21-4.EL.img
    Ok, I've changed a few things as indicated above.

    First I commented out the splashimage line. You can play with that once you can boot. I've put a space between root and (hd0,5). I've also added /boot to front part of the path in the kernel and initrd lines.

    Try this and see if it works.

    If not, let us know...

  6. #15
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Glad you got it going. It's strange though that it would boot at all if the cable was bad. Oh well, weird things happen with computers at time.

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Oh I know Welll thanks again for your help

  8. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozar
    default=0
    timeout=10
    # splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title White Box Enterprise Linux (2.4.21-4.EL)
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-4.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.21-4.EL.img
    Ok, I've changed a few things as indicated above.

    First I commented out the splashimage line. You can play with that once you can boot. I've put a space between root and (hd0,5). I've also added /boot to front part of the path in the kernel and initrd lines.

    Try this and see if it works.
    Ozar, you have fundamentally changed the way Grub will boot, here. wfernley's system has a /boot partition at (hd0,0) and the root ( / ) partition at (hd0,4). The "root" statement in Grub says "this is the reference for all other statements". So wfernley must say:
    • root (hd0,0)
      kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    For the system to boot with your suggested:
    • root (hd0,5)
      kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    requires that the kernel (vmlinuz) be in the /boot partition of /dev/hda5. But with a separate /boot partition, that would not be the case.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •