Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Hey everyone, I just did an install of Linux on my crappy P2 400 computer and for some reason after the installation, everytime I boot the computer up it says ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26

    Linux Installation Probelm - "Invalid System Disk"


    Hey everyone,

    I just did an install of Linux on my crappy P2 400 computer and for some reason after the installation, everytime I boot the computer up it says "invalid system disk" It doesn't seem to be booting correctly. I tried using the rescue disk and doing a grub-install /dev/hda but that didn't work either.

    Anybody have any ideas

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Wes

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If you can post your /grub/menu.lst file it will help to determine what the problem might be.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    That's /boot/grub/menu.lst, not /grub/menu.lst

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Sorry it took me a while to get this for you.
    This is what the /boot/grub/menu.lst says:

    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title White Box Enterprise Linux (2.4.21-4.EL)
    root(hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.21-4.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.21-4.EL.img



    I hope this helps. If you need any other info please let me know.

    Wes

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Oh and I'm not sure if this will help but here are my mounts....

    hda1 is /boot
    hda2 is /home
    hda5 is /

    also on there i put the swap

    then on the second hard drive I have some websites and the var.

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by wfernley
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.21-4.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.21-4.EL.img
    See what happens if you make these lines look like this:

    Code:
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-4.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.21-4.EL.img
    Please let us know if it works, or if it doesn't...

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Sure, I can give it a shot when I get home. I'm at work right now.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Hey again, sorry that didn't work. Any other dieas

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    strange... that worked for me with my debian install. maybe you want to double check where those files are on your linux installation (vmlinuz and initrd) and know exactly what they are called. they should be in /boot but sometimes the filenames might be different so double check that.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    yeah I have double checked that. Grub does have the right path and has the right filenames.

    Could it be that my RAM is bad?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •