Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi everyone, I'm still a Linux newb, and I'm not sure how to dual boot Windows XP and SuSE 9.3. I have /dev/hda1 with 30 gb to install windows on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

SuSE 9.3 and Windows XP

Hi everyone, I'm still a Linux newb, and I'm not sure how to dual boot Windows XP and SuSE 9.3.

I have /dev/hda1 with 30 gb to install windows on and /dev/hda2 as boot /dev/hda3 as swap and /dev/hda4 for the Linux root partition.

How can I dual boot Windows XP and Linux? Please help.

The first thing I would do is create a nice grub boot floppy; I outline how to do that in this thread: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/post-191536.html

After that, install Windows as you normally would, boot to SuSE from the floppy, open YaST and go to System -> Boot Loader Configuration, click on Reset, and select Propose New Configuration. It should come up with your new dual-boot.

There is, of course, also a "manual" way of doing it via the command line that is pretty simple; if you'd like to do it that way, you can edit your /boot/grub/menu.lst file (as root) and add this section:
    Code:
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
        root (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Well the way I do it is by inserting my Win XP disc first. Choose the size of the partition. Format the Windows partition & continue installing it. Then when you've done all that, insert your Suse disc, reboot & go through the setup where Suse should detect Windows installed. Once Suse is installed and you reboot you will get the option of booting into Suse or Windows. It's fairly straight forward. Good luck

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close