Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello, Using Mandrake update is it possible to update KDE while in KDE? I've asked this question to Mandrake and they don't seem to want to answer it. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    27

    Mandrake update


    Hello,

    Using Mandrake update is it possible to update KDE while in KDE? I've asked this question to Mandrake and they don't seem to want to answer it. I have Mandrake 8.0. In using Mandrake update to get patch updates I noticed several updates for security to KDE, including KDEBase. As I'm running update while in KDE is it possible to safely update KDE while in it or will the update cause KDE to fail? It seems to me that when updating an app. the app. should be closed not running, but the update runs under KDE. I also noticed kernel updates as well same question for it, can I do the update while running KDE?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    I think it should work out just fine, but I'm not using Mandrake or KDE, so don't trust me 100% on that one.

    What I can think of the work thing that might happen is that you have to restart Xfree or something.

    Good luck

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    27
    Thanks for the tip. I'll be doing it tonight, I'll let you know what happened either way. Even if everything dies I'll at least learn not to do that again.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    If you update KDE while you're in KDE you have to restart KDE for the changes to take effect. You can, however, install the new version while the old version is running.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    27
    I did the update of KDE last night, rebooted and all was fine . Tonight I try the kernel and its libs.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by thllgo
    I did the update of KDE last night, rebooted and all was fine . Tonight I try the kernel and its libs.

    Thanks
    You don't have to fully reboot to start the new version of KDE...just restart X with CTRL+ALT+Backspace.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    27
    I didn't know you could do it that way, but there is an option when loging out in KDE, or Mandrake to restart X, but I did a reboot to make completely sure it would start on boot up. I once did an update and all seemed fine util about a month later when I rebooted and boot up complained about the packages I had updated a month eairler. As a result I now reboot after updates just to make sure there is no problem or if there is I can deal with it then. Just habit since it's not a production server but simply my home PC.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    You don't really have to reboot in GNU/Linux unless you got a kernel panic, or updating a kernel.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    And that's whats wonderful about it. I haven't rebooted since I switched to the 2.6.0-test4-bk3 kernel.

    Code:
    sarumont@illusion Half-Life $ uptime
     22:27:33 up 21 days, 23:56,  3 users,  load average: 1.14, 1.22, 1.15
    sarumont@illusion Half-Life $
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    oh, the things you learn by reading these posts.. in all the time i've played around with linux, i never knew about the 'uptime' command... ::shrugs:: guess you learn somethin' new every day..
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •