Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hi i want to create a software-testing system like this: hda1 50mb (ext2 grub) hda2 5gb (fat32 win9 hda3 5gb (fat32 win9 hda5 10gb (ntfs w2k) hda6 10gb (ntfs w2k) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4

    booting windows with grub


    hi

    i want to create a software-testing system like this:

    hda1 50mb (ext2 grub)
    hda2 5gb (fat32 win9
    hda3 5gb (fat32 win9
    hda5 10gb (ntfs w2k)
    hda6 10gb (ntfs w2k)
    hda7 10gb (ntfs wxp)
    hda8 10gb (ntfs wxp)
    hda9 rest (fat32 for clean install-images )

    no, i dont have any problems with the licenses
    yes, i hate windows too but i have to test network-windows-softwareinstallations with troublemaking software

    the plan is to hide all partitions expect hda9 and the booting operating system and write back the clean image when work is done

    to start/hide/install win98 is no problem

    how to install/start the others
    (i know how to use map
    but dont know how to start the installation-cd after starting grub)

    on hda5 i have already a running w2k and i can start it with a boot disk
    perhaps there is a possibility to use an image of this boot disk with grub?
    (device (fd0) /floppy.img but how?)


    bye tim

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I have not heard of using Grub without a linux partition.

    One of your main problems is going to be installinga new Windows version. As windows always writes to the MBR.

    Possible solution, install all versions of Windows, then install a version of Linux(Suse 9.3 would work great for this). Put Grub on the MBR and you will be able to use Grub to boot all versions of Windows.

    Question, is there a reason that you need Grub to boot these versions of Windows.?
    Because NTLDR should be able to do the job for all of them.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    I have not heard of using Grub without a linux partition.
    hda1 is a linux partition with grub on it.
    it is ext2 (grub would work with fat also.)

    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    One of your main problems is going to be installinga new Windows version. As windows always writes to the MBR.
    reinstalling grub is not my problem
    i want to install once!
    then i will use the images (they wont care the boot sector)

    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Possible solution, install all versions of Windows, then install a version of Linux(Suse 9.3 would work great for this). Put Grub on the MBR and you will be able to use Grub to boot all versions of Windows.
    Install all Windows versions is the problem. if i install w98 and the installing windows 2k the windows 2k boot manager writes himself on the win98 harddisk. when i hide both partitions with win98... w2k breaking the installation with an error!
    i dont need a suse 9.3! i need grub and i have grub on the first partition and its working fine with w98 on partition 2 and 3


    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Question, is there a reason that you need Grub to boot these versions of Windows.?
    Because NTLDR should be able to do the job for all of them.
    yes! grub because the NTLDR writes himself in the w98 partition. this means the w98 partition is destroyed and i cannot use win2k while i re-imaged this partition. and on any change i have to make a new w98 image of the first w98 partition.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    yes! grub because the NTLDR writes himself in the w98 partition
    You mean NTLDR writes to the MBR.
    When you install any version of Windows you should be given the option to install to whatever partition you want.
    I have dual-booted Windows before, Win98 and XP without a problem.

    As long as you have all of the partitions setup ahead of time you should be able to install to those partitions.

    Then see Nerderello's grub tutorial
    He has instructions for putting Grub onto a floppy.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4
    [quote="budman7"]
    You mean NTLDR writes to the MBR.
    When you install any version of Windows you should be given the option to install to whatever partition you want.
    you dont understand!
    if i install windows xp on "drive D:" all boot files are copied to "Drive C:" (boot.ini, ntldr, ntdetect.com, ....)
    if i hide the primary partitions (win9 then win2k and wxp wont install because they cannot write to this!

    [quote="budman7"]
    Then see Nerderello's grub tutorial
    He has instructions for putting Grub onto a floppy.
    i have three different grub disks, all working fine with the 2 win98 partitions, it is not the problem. and i have a win2k boot disk working fine as well. (w2k formated disk with boot.ini, ntldr, ntdetect.com)
    if i could make an image of this and boot it with grub everything would be fine for me.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    No, I guess I do not understand.
    Because in my experience dual-booting XP and 98SE. XP did not write anything to the C: drive.
    Just to the MBR.

    So, I am not sure why this is happening on your installation.

    Hopefully someone with more experience will step in and help out.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    No, I guess I do not understand.
    Because in my experience dual-booting XP and 98SE. XP did not write anything to the C: drive.
    Just to the MBR.
    yes when you install win98 and winxp you will use 2 primary partitions! that is no problem.

    but when you install winxp on a logical drive without a primary partition before, the installation stops with:
    "windows could not write files to Harddisk 0, ID 0, BUS 0 .....
    NO <laughing>Windows Compatible Drive</laughing> ...
    Installtion stoped!!

    if you have a primary (windows-write-able) partition in front: windows will write the files!

    and 4 primary partitions is max!

    with a windows boot disk (only including the ntdlr) the system can start from a logical drive without a problem.
    but floppy-disks have 3 magic disadvantages:
    - die young
    - slowly
    - where were the disks ...??

    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Hopefully someone with more experience will step in and help out.
    i hope too

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •