Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hey All, I have Installed Linux Advanced server on my system, which is a Dell box with 1.2 GHz processor and 140Gb Drive. The problem is , When i boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5

    problem in starting , after instalation


    Hey All,



    I have Installed Linux Advanced server on my system, which is a Dell box

    with 1.2 GHz processor and 140Gb Drive.

    The problem is , When i boot the computer for the first time, it gets struck while

    booting saying SMP motherboard not detected and it says,

    CPU#0

    CPU:0 slice:0

    and stops doin anything..

    i don't know what to do now

    help required ........


  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Ok I have no idea what distro you are using but I suggest running the install again and seeing if you can just reconfigure the kernel. If you don't have dual cpus, there is no need for smp.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Since the installation kernel runs, that has to be a configuration problem. Maybe the Linux (Redhat, I guess?) Advanced server requires SMP or something? Yes, it seems strange, but who knows what those guys over at redhat might have been doing.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5

    What next ?????

    I have tried the installation another two times the same thing is happning....
    i Don't know what's happening in there.
    Instalation process runs cool.
    but when i start the computer after installing, that's it..
    same error again.

    please help......

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5
    No dual CPU, no hifunda stuffs..
    its a dell machine with pentium 4 CPU with 1.6 Ghz

    i am baddly in need of help...

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Somewhere during the install I am sure there is an option for smp. You need to find that and disable it. Though I am not sure why it is not working even with smp. I have ran smp kernels on single cpu machines without any problems.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Have you tried a normal distro (not advanced server) on the machine? Is this advanced server the redhat one?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5
    Yes i was having normal Linux (vallhalla version) it was running fine, but then i heard a lot bt this advanced servers and ennded with this error.

    Yes it is Linux Advanced server of RedHat. version 2.1


  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Nothing worthwhile with "advanced server". Anything you can do with that, you can do with any other distro.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Actually, you can probably do more with the normal distros. The advanced server thing is that it uses older software that is proven to be very stable, to maximize uptime.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •