Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Ok guys I need some help. I have XP Pro, Server 'O3, and Xandros OC on one hard drive, and Suse Linux 9.2 (and the swap partition) on the second ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6

    help.. lost grub after installing another OS..then another.. and another.


    Ok guys I need some help. I have XP Pro, Server 'O3, and Xandros OC on one hard drive, and Suse Linux 9.2 (and the swap partition) on the second hard drive.

    Problem is, I lost my Grub after I reinstalled Server. Actually it was the Xandros verion of grub.

    Now when turn on the computer I only can choose between the two Windows'.

    The Linux's haven't been touched so I should be okay right? Do I have to reinstall one of them to have a bootloader that shows em all?

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    No, you should not have to reinstall.
    Never having worked with Xandros I am not sure what kind of options they put on the installation cd.
    With some distros you can use the installation cd as a rescue cd.
    Boot up with the cd, and see if it gives you any rescue options or click on the Install, and see what options it gives you in relation to an already existing installation of Xandros.

    You can also look at Nerderello's grub tutorial.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-19999.html
    He has instructions on how to rcover from this very thing.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6
    Oh good. Well surely if Xandros can't recover it Suse 9.2 can! I should be okay then.

    Thanks for the help,
    Phases

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It's been a while since I used Suse, but I do believe it has an option to reinstall GRUB, so you should be fine. It's always a good idea to keep a GRUB floppy on hand, too.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Suse 9.2 definitely has an option to reinstall Grub.
    Boot up with the disk in the drive.
    Select Installation.
    When Suse sees that you already have Suse installed, there will be some options there.
    One of the options will be "Repair"
    Select that and then select "Custom repair"
    Then you will see a bunch of things that you can repair.
    Just put a check in the bootloader box, hit Continue or whatever the option to move on is.
    You should be good to go.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •