Find the answer to your Linux question:
I intend to repartition my hard disk and reinstal linux as i have made a lot of (mostly bad) changes and cant be arsed to fix them all. i have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Engineer

reccomend partitioning

I intend to repartition my hard disk and reinstal linux as i have made a lot of (mostly bad) changes and cant be arsed to fix them all. i have a 40gb+20gb primary master and slave hard disk and cdrw and dvdrom scsi emulation drives. What would you reccomend for partitioning? I would like to have /swap /tmp /home /usr and /root on different partitions. for the most part i dont use more than 400mb's of my 1gb (suse default) swapspace as i have 512mb ddr ram. so what do you reccomend. also please advise, in what order you think the partitions would be best?

ta

Linux User
    From what I've read I don't think you need more than 500mb of swap space, but I could be wrong. /usr I'd say between 2 and 5 gigs, depending on how much you think you'll be installing. / I'd say 500mb -1 gig. /tmp you should be fine with 100mb. And finally make /home whatever you think you'll need. There, that's what I would do, God speed...

Linux Engineer
    I should atleast have /var /tmp on different partitions for security pourposes. Its also recommended to have twice as much swapspace as you have RAM memory but its no rule! Its just that the swap algoritm is optimized for that much of space.
    Regards

Andutt

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    well i have been monitering my swap useage and it rarely goes over 400mb but i was able to max it out when i ran many many apps (gimp with 200mb image/mplayer -dvd and mplayer with avi and a few others) what order on the disks would you sugest for the different partitions (swap at the start?) and on what drive master/slave?