Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi guys. I am busy installing SimplyMEPIS and I'm having trouble. I've booted it from the CD and now I'm trying to use "Install me" to install it onto my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    44

    QTParted does not find my S-ATA HD


    Hi guys.

    I am busy installing SimplyMEPIS and I'm having trouble.

    I've booted it from the CD and now I'm trying to use "Install me" to install it onto my HD. But, there is no HD to choose from in the drop down menu. So I run QTParted, and I see one HD ("/dev/hdd/") but it's 700 MB so I figured that that must be the CD I'm booting from.
    So, it doesn't see my HD at all.

    I tried partitioning it using PQPMagic into 2 EXT3 partitions and one SWAP but it still doens't see it. Then I tried to partition it into one big FAT32 drive because I allready had that on my prev PC and that worked (I was able to create my partitions inside Mepis), but it still doesn't work.

    So now what, any things I might be forgetting?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Do you see an icon for the hard drive on the desktop?

    And can we assume that when you don't have the cd in, the machine will still boot to that hard drive?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Do you see an icon for the hard drive on the desktop?
    Yeah, but clicking it gives an "unable to mount" error
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    And can we assume that when you don't have the cd in, the machine will still boot to that hard drive?
    No, because it has no bootloader right?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    budman7 wrote:
    And can we assume that when you don't have the cd in, the machine will still boot to that hard drive?
    No, because it has no bootloader right?
    Oops, I made an assumption that there was an OS already on the hard drive.
    A better question would be can you see the hard drive in the BIOS or bootup?
    And is it set to Auto? Instead of LVM or something else.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Oops, I made an assumption that there was an OS already on the hard drive.
    A better question would be can you see the hard drive in the BIOS or bootup?
    And is it set to Auto? Instead of LVM or something else.
    Well it doesn't show up as an IDE device, which is normal since it is a S-ATA drive right?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    There are 2 links on this page that come kind of close to what you need.
    http://www.mepis.org/forum/60?sort=a...62cbd270950b0a

    Not sure if they will help or not, as I am totally unfamiliar with installing on a sata.
    The first link is about megaraid, but he does have some useful info in there, and the second link is "mepis-sata install"
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Thanks mate, haven't found it yet but this link might be helpfull.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •