Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
What I have here is a laptop, with cdrom, floppy, and an external cd-rw(usb) I have had so many problem's accessing my cdrom, it's not even funny anymore. I don't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4

    fstab and cdrom access


    What I have here is a laptop, with cdrom, floppy, and an external cd-rw(usb)
    I have had so many problem's accessing my cdrom, it's not even funny anymore.

    I don't know if it mean's anything or not, but in /mnt, there is: cdrom, cdrom2, floppy.
    All of them have the lock symbal on them. I can use the floppy, and cd-rw no problem's.

    Here is what fstab look's like now:
    /dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults 1 1
    none /dev/pts devpts mode=0620 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /home ext3 defaults 1 2
    none /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/hdc,fs=auto,--,user,unmask=0 0 0
    none /mnt/cdrom2 supermount dev=/dev/scd0,fs=auto,ro,--,user 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount dev=/dev/fd0,fs=auto,--,user,sync,umask=0 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0

    This is what I have tried today, and the error message's that came along with them:
    none /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/hdc,fs=auto,--,user 0 0
    error=could not enter directory /mnt/cdrom

    /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/hdc,fs=auto,--,user 1 0
    error=could not enter directory /mnt/cdrom

    /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/hdc,fs=auto,--,user,
    unmask=0 0 0
    error=could not enter directory /mnt/cdrom

    Last night I could access the cdrom no problem Today, nothing. I have been in circle's so many time's with this, I don't remember what has worked, and what has not.

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

    thank's
    chopp

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    Try this:
    Code:
    none /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/hdc,fs=auto,ro,--,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    If that doesn't work, try mounting it without supermount:
    Code:
    /dev/cdrom(or wherever the cd device points to, I'm not sure if /dev/hdc works, maybe try that)     /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro       0 0

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    SiezedPropaganda, the first one get's me "could not enter directory /mnt/cdrom
    and the second leave's me without a link to the device on my desktop.

    Any other ideas?
    thank's
    chopp

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    How are you trying to access your cd-rom? Are you doing it as root?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    No, as a regular user. I logout, and into root to make my fstab change's. Only because I am a little intimidated by nano as of yet.

    chopp

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4
    This is working for me as of now anyway. We'll see what tommorow bring's.

    Code:
    none /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/hdc,fs=iso9660,exec,--,user,dev,suid 0 0
    chopp

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •