Find the answer to your Linux question:
Alright, I'm a newbie to Linux so bear with me. I followed dt2's tutorial for burning the .iso files onto CD-Rs. I thought I had done it properly, and when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Fedora Install Problem

Alright, I'm a newbie to Linux so bear with me.

I followed dt2's tutorial for burning the .iso files onto CD-Rs. I thought I had done it properly, and when I booted from the CD, the Fedora Install seemed to be working. The problem came about when I tried to "check" the file... it failed the test.

Now, I could theoretically just try it again, maybe it was a fluke. But if there's some fairly common problem and/or reason for this, I'm hoping to figure it out before I waste all my CDs.

How can I check that the file I downloaded isn't corrupt? And is there a way to check the CD before I try the installation?

Thanks.

Linux Enthusiast
    You can check the MD5sum of the files with programs like fsum, i think. As long as the install finishes, and you have a working system afterwards, you should be OK

Linux Enthusiast

Re: Fedora Install Problem

Quote Originally Posted by Kangaroo Rat
    Alright, I'm a newbie to Linux so bear with me.

I followed dt2's tutorial for burning the .iso files onto CD-Rs. I thought I had done it properly, and when I booted from the CD, the Fedora Install seemed to be working. The problem came about when I tried to "check" the file... it failed the test.

Now, I could theoretically just try it again, maybe it was a fluke. But if there's some fairly common problem and/or reason for this, I'm hoping to figure it out before I waste all my CDs.

How can I check that the file I downloaded isn't corrupt? And is there a way to check the CD before I try the installation?

Thanks.
    Yes, there are several programs that will check the md5 for you. Oh and when burning set it to a slow speed, that will ensure data accuracy

4. $spacer_open