Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I have dual boot right now. GRUB is working fine. I have window xp and redhat 9. But when I try to boot with redhat 9. I keep getting Kernel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5

    Redhat Kernel Panic Help


    I have dual boot right now. GRUB is working fine. I have window xp and redhat 9.

    But when I try to boot with redhat 9. I keep getting Kernel Panic help.

    Before attempted to kill init, i get this

    Code: ff 50 10 eb d0 eb 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90

    Kernel Panic: Attempted to kill init!


    What do I do? I'm really pissed off.

    Computer spec:

    VIAK8M Motherboard.
    Window XP SP2
    AMD 64 3000
    1 GB DDRAM 333
    GeForce FX 5900 GT 128 MB

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    what does your /boot/grub/grub.conf or /boot/grub/menu.lst look like?
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by genesus
    what does your /boot/grub/grub.conf or /boot/grub/menu.lst look like?

    I can't access any files from linux atm.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817

    Re: Redhat Kernel Panic Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Raige342
    I'm really pissed off.
    Doesn't help. Wish it did.

    To get your grub.conf, when you boot and see the Grub menu (where you select which OS to boot to), highlight your Redhat OS and then press 'e' for edit. You'll see the script that you wish would boot your Linux. Write that down and post it here. If you decide to change something in that script to try to boot, you can do that non-permanently by highlighting the line you want to change and then press 'e' to edit. From there, you can basically follow the instructions that Grub offers.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5
    The code for redhat is.

    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.20-6 ro root=LABEL/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.20-6.img

    For the windows

    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1



    Is there a problem with it? I installed window xp first with 80 gb, i left 50 gb for windows and 30 gb for redhat. I installed redhat on the 30 gb unpartitioned(redhat partioned the 30gb to /ext3) and windows partioned the 50 gb to NTFS.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Your grub.conf looks okay, I think. That's assuming that there is a small typo in your post: 'root=LABEL/' should be 'root=LABEL=/'. I wonder if your AMD64 is a problem for that distro? That's all I got....
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by drakebasher
    Your grub.conf looks okay, I think. That's assuming that there is a small typo in your post: 'root=LABEL/' should be 'root=LABEL=/'. I wonder if your AMD64 is a problem for that distro? That's all I got....
    Yeah its root=LABEL=/

    My mistake.

    I keep thinking about that too. Maybe it's my AMD 64. But I really need to install redhat linux on this computer. So is there any way to fix this or no?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5
    Hmm, cant fix this?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Have you ever installed RedHat/Fedora on that machine before? I've never liked their use of LABEL for identifyng partitions. Which partition is the root partition? Find out and do this:

    Boot to the Grub menu, and press 'c' for the Grub command line.
    do root (hd0,1)

    do kernel../ <tab> ("<tab>" means the tab key)
    You should see a list of files in the (hd0,1) partition. You should see vmlinuz-2.4.20-6 among them. Anything else of interest?
    Add vmlin <tab> to get the whole file name and then add ro..root=/dev/hda2 or whatever your root partition is.
    do initrd../init <tab>
    do boot

    You'll notice that this is nothing more than manually doing what the Grub menu should do, but by using Grub's filename completion, you can confirm that the files that you are asking for are where you think they are.
    If you don't see anything "unexpected" and it doesn't boot, you may need to reinstall or install a different distro.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Write down at least 10 lines before the error and lines that are different than what they were before.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •