Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
# df Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on /dev/hda8 2682732 732336 1950396 28% / /dev/hda9 13919856 9191964 4727892 67% /usr /dev/hda10 9767184 1553976 8213208 16% /home /dev/hda11 1710828 843824 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75

    dual distro install


    # df
    Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda8 2682732 732336 1950396 28% /
    /dev/hda9 13919856 9191964 4727892 67% /usr
    /dev/hda10 9767184 1553976 8213208 16% /home
    /dev/hda11 1710828 843824 867004 50% /var
    /dev/hda12 2931732 1184388 1747344 41% /opt
    /dev/hda14 6835408 4599048 2236360 68% /usr/portage
    /dev/hda15 4714896 3090012 1624884 66% /home/other
    /dev/hda5 10231392 255784 9975608 3% /windows/d
    none 516548 0 516548 0% /dev/shm
    I have a spare partition: /dev/hda13 9767184 2575928 7191256 27% SPARE PARTITION - that I want to install another distribution on, such as slackware say.
    Can someone give an explanation (in some detail) of how to do this??
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    This is totally of topic but df -h is much nicer.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    heh, but when you use AIX all day and it doesn't have df -h, you get used to not using it

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Ermm the best way to install it is just install it like a normal distro share the swap space you already have, Then install it all under one / directory on the spare partition. (I know this isnt the best solotion but better then spliting it up more?) Then dont install a bootloader use the one you use already, I guess you know how to configure it.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    other then that jst make sure you have configured the bootloader to boot the new distro.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    i would imagine that you could share the home partition also... but you might want to create a script to keep your config files separate in your home dirs...
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    Yeah, I did everything that you've mentioned already. It boots of the kernel, however there are a ton of module errors during the boot sequence and just seems to hang when trying to start the system logger. (This is redhat I've tried).
    I'm sure that it is trying to use the partitions that already exist for my gentoo install rather than the partitions it actually owns.

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    did you try double checking your fstab in RH?
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    Code:
    LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/hda7               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    I don't know if that is right or not.

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Maybe you are not mounting the right partition when you boot? Cant really say cause i dont know your disk layout or your configuration. What partitions are you sharing between distros?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •