Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, I just got SimplyMEPIS up and running last night (first time running linux ^^). Anyway, when I did use windows, my favorite Media Player was VLC. I want it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing VLC media player; Need help ; ;

Ok, I just got SimplyMEPIS up and running last night (first time running linux ^^). Anyway, when I did use windows, my favorite Media Player was VLC. I want it back! I was reading around on the Mepis website and some people were saying that Mepis has VLC install files built in. However, I was not successful at retrieving these. I just wanted to know if there was another way to DL a version of VLC for SimplyMEPIS, and how I would go about installing it. Please help me out! And remember, I am a complete NEWB when it comes to linux, so please bare with me ; ;

Re: Installing VLC media player; Need help ; ;

Quote Originally Posted by Aristeia
    Ok, I just got SimplyMEPIS up and running last night (first time running linux ^^). Anyway, when I did use windows, my favorite Media Player was VLC. I want it back! I was reading around on the Mepis website and some people were saying that Mepis has VLC install files built in. However, I was not successful at retrieving these. I just wanted to know if there was another way to DL a version of VLC for SimplyMEPIS, and how I would go about installing it. Please help me out! And remember, I am a complete NEWB when it comes to linux, so please bare with me ; ;
    SimplyMEPIS uses DEB package management, which as a SuSE-9.3 user, I know nothing about (SuSE uses the RPM system).

You could try building from source, although that might be too much expect with your having just installed linux for the first time last night.

Anyway, the VLC web site is here:
    http://www.videolan.org/

VLC download page is here:
    http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Source Code (for compiling/building yourself) is here: