Find the answer to your Linux question:
I managed to kill my Debian Woody install the other day (I'm a newbie!) and so I decided to just go for a full Sid (unstable) installation. I started with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Debian: slow downloads during net install

I managed to kill my Debian Woody install the other day (I'm a newbie!) and so I decided to just go for a full Sid (unstable) installation.

I started with a 2.4 kernel install off the cd. I then finished up the install from the internet. I did not install any packages yet, I just started with a "clean" base install.

I then configured my sources.list file with only unstable sources and ran:
    apt-get update
    apt-get autoclean
    apt-get dist-upgrade

During the entire base/distro upgrade from the net, I was maintaining about 350kB/s download speed of deb's. Everything went fine during the install and configuration. (Roughly 40mb's of files were downloaded in less than 2 minutes... The base install took roughly 30 minutes total.)

I then ran dselect to install X, Gnome, Open Office and several other utilities... Yes, I know a bunch of stuff at once. It lists about 350 files. Now the download speeds are averaging roughly 4000B/s!!!! (The install is listing right at about 24 hours!!!!).

I at first thought I had just grabbed a bad connection so I aborted the install and restarted but then I connected at the same speeds again. Then thinking that "possibly" I had done something wrong, I completely restarted (clean install again!) That wasn't it either!!!!

I know that during the install that a number of process are started and are probably eating into memory, but should this be a problem with downloads?