Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am completely new to Linux but can see that there is a lot to offer and I like it! I hope that this hasn't been posted already, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual booting with a ghosted XP

Hi,

I am completely new to Linux but can see that there is a lot to offer and I like it!

I hope that this hasn't been posted already, but if it has please point me to it!

I have a laptop with no floppy, (a DVD writer) that came with XP Pro installed. The problem is i haven't got the XP disc but the ghosted version of it (on DVD) as it left the factory.
    I used a Maxtor utility to wipe and partition the drive so I could partition it to make it run a bit more swiftly.
    Now, i want to dual boot with Linux.
    I plan to use Ubuntu as i like it and it seems like a good beginners choice.
    If i stick the install disc in and it discovers i already have an OS on there will it set itself up in the other partition currently labelled "D" within Windows? I know that this isn't a primary partition and therefore cannot boot from it, but can I leave XP as it is and "play" around with the spare drive?

Thanks in advance

Linux Enthusiast
    Yeah, sure you can... I think.

So you have Win XP installed on one partition, and a free partition as well. All you need to do is install ubuntu ono that free partition, and you should be set. Good Luck, and enjoy linux :P

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your reply.
    So even though the partition isn't set to primary, Ubuntu will do the rest as far as booting is concerned?
    So, if i install it on what was called "D" within windows, when I turn on my laptop I will get a menu asking which OS to boot from?