Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I've been using Windows for the last 10 years. I am now downloading the 3 .iso's for Linux Mandrake 9.1, but I was hoping someone could answer a couple ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Using Linux Mandrake - It's a scary new world...

Hi.

I've been using Windows for the last 10 years.

I am now downloading the 3 .iso's for Linux Mandrake 9.1, but I was hoping someone could answer a couple of queries I have.

I have 2 Hard Drives. A 40gb one, which has Windows XP and all my games and software. I also have an 80gb one which has nothing but music and movies - which take up about 45gb of space.

I wish to install Mandrake on my 2nd (80gb) hard drive.

These are the questions :

1. Can I install Mandrake on my 80gb drive without losing the files that are already on there. Remember - it's only movies and games, no Windows files or software of any kind.

2. I hear you need 3 partitions or something for Linux. Will this all be done automatically for me during the installation.

3. I also heard Linux cannot run on NTFS file system and uses it's own kind of formatting. Does this mean that any programs I want to use in Linux need to also be installed on the partitions or can I install them anywhere (the rest of the drive is NTFS)

4. Following a succesful installation will I get a dual boot screen on booting my computer where I can choose XP or Linux?

and 5.

If it all goes wrong, and I decide I hate Linux, can I delete the partitions, and restore everything to how it was before?

Sorry to ask so much, but it's really confusing me. Linux is more complicated to install and learn than Windows isn't it? Or am I just being stupid.

I'd really appreciate any help at all. Thanks alot.

Cheers.

Linux User
    Welcome to the world of Linux, it's a wonderful world.