Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hye all there I have just installed the Red Hat Linux 8.0, on my windowsXP machine. I am new to linux. I want to browse the internet from my linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to access the internet through ISA Server from Linux box

Hye all there I have just installed the Red Hat Linux 8.0, on my windowsXP machine. I am new to linux. I want to browse the internet from my linux box, I use the Win2k server and ISA Server 2000 as internet sharing. Any body could help me? I have only one pc of liux in my office I am tired to doing all with this. Plzz tell me how to access the internet through ISA Server. Linux gets the IP address from DHCP.

Some one has told me to give the Default Gateway, I am confued where to give it, and also how to edit for the "Hosts.conf" file , and what is it use.Please tell me

Linux Engineer
    Tiy basicly type this
    Code:
    dhcpcd eth0
    which will connect you to the net using dhcp. You can set your box up to automaticly do that at boot but it varies by distro. The hosts file is a map of hostname to addresses. For example
    127.0.0.1 localhost alias.host <- maps that ip to your localhost and creastes the alias to localhost alias.host

123.123.123.123 server1 <- would map that ip to the hostname server1. So you could just type ftp server1 and it would resolve that hostname to the ip.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by genlee
    Tiy basicly type this
    Code:
    dhcpcd eth0
    which will connect you to the net using dhcp. You can set your box up to automaticly do that at boot but it varies by distro. The hosts file is a map of hostname to addresses. For example
    127.0.0.1 localhost alias.host <- maps that ip to your localhost and creastes the alias to localhost alias.host