Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Well I have been hearing good things about linux for like about 5 years for now and might wanna jump right in there and be a part of it. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to Linux. Help Needed

Hello

Well I have been hearing good things about linux for like about 5 years for now and might wanna jump right in there and be a part of it. Dell is also now making PC's clean ready for any linux to be installed on. The things I would like to know is about installing Suse 9.3 and if I got the right cd's which was 5 total from
    http://linux.softpedia.com/progDownl...wnload-46.html
    I heard I have to burn the 5 cd's as a Image which can I use Nero the latest one. I also would like to know If I can wipe clean my XP from my 80 GB harddrive and have a clean install of Suse 9.3

My Computer Specs

Dell 4700
    P4 2.8 HT
    512 MB Ram
    80 GB Hardrive
    Ati Radeon X300 Series
    Creative Soundblaster 24Bit
    Dell Modem which is never used
    Internet is Cable and I have rourter hooked up Linksys

The reasons I am asking these things is because I plan on this weekend to Install it. If I am forgeting some other things let me know. My backup is another computer in my house. I have networked which will have all my backup apps,and music and I know I won't ever to be able to play PC games no more..

Can anyone suggest somethings or a welcome to linux hope I enjoy my stay..Whatever is fine for me..I feel lost because I'm used to how things work in Windows.

Welcome to linux, and welcome to the forums!!!

My advice would not be to completely abandon windows, but rather try dual booting both windows and suse9.3 ( a very good distro by the way!) for a while. That way, if things don't work out the way you want it, you can always go back to windows (although, if you're willing to put a little effort into linux, I doubt you will!).