Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
or bittorent http://tinyurl.com/thmk...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113

    or bittorent

    http://tinyurl.com/thmk

  2. #12
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    ok now i finnaly got partition magic 8.0

    i shal resize c: down by 5.6Gb & create (199.3Mb swap...3.7Gb ext2)



    Now i am a little unclear about the install do i have to use boot magic(boot selector)and if so, Then do i have to use LILO instead of GRUB

    Also what is a good backup utility for windows.....my oem win Me dosn't have m$backup
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    what i did was jst resize my win partition and set up the 2 new ones and after that i jst put in the cd and rebooted and went into the install. linux knows where to put everything and then when it comes to configuring grub or lilo jst make sure to put it in your MBR. i would back up things from your win partition that you really want to keep jst incase something happens. i have yet to mess up my winxp partition and i have installed linux like 4 times so it prolly wont happend but better safe then sorry.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss
    Partition Magic, free from p2p
    U could also use parted which is free and u could use it from a bootdisk (I've done this when I've got a dual boot)
    It's there: http://www.gnu.org/software/parted/m...ed_1.html#SEC7
    It's not very difficult but u must read the manual first
    But if Yast or DraX or cfdisk cant open ur disk be very careful: he may be damaged
    The only time I can't partition my disk with those tools, two partitions were overlapping on my disk (dixit DraX).
    Good luck

  5. #15
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    GNUX you make a goood point now that i think about it i did warrenty this drive before i dropped the lappie cause it wouldn't partition after it was 0'd
    so mabey i didn't have to get partiton magic, but i have it now.looks soooooooooo easy & yes i probably don't have to backup anything ever and never loose anything however, been there done that. Last time i had to revert back to win,all hell broke loose lost half the data......never again!

    SO what is a good backup burner utility? ie: if i go p2p without a name i get junk! i'm thinking adaptec/roxio can't find will ck there site/download.com ect...

    also big k are you saying that i don't need to use boot magic or somting like it(i know that linux will find it's partitions on instalation.......place lilo/grub into mbr when i figure out where that is. Will the installer do this? Or i this a manual thing?

    And if your wondering i have read the docomentation! it's just not all making sense..........or rather it seames to me that there are pices missing.
    or it's explained badly....small rant over!
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    the installer will know all that stuff. suse 8.2 has a really smart installer and does pretty much everything for you all you have to do is read what they said and press ok if you like it.
    do you have your parititions resized and have you added the 2 new ones yet. if so jst pop in the install cd and it will go to work and it will pretty much tell you everything you have to do.
    o and for a burning software you can get a trail of nero from there web site www.nero.com

    hope this helps
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  7. #17
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    thnx thnx thnx i rembered where my burn utility was :rock:
    installing now
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #18
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    OK were done thnx all dual boot is wonderful! time to config the rest of my laptop now later......
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •