Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
By guru I just mean someone who can install linux, then make it work with hardware. Then install packages, patches, and applications. Set up a webserver, database, and mailserver. If ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How many years will it take to become a guru?

By guru I just mean someone who can install linux, then make it work with hardware. Then install packages, patches, and applications. Set up a webserver, database, and mailserver. If you've ever attempted to do this, there is a lot involved!

I am just getting into this. Actually this is my first post. I'm sure there will be many, many more.... like I was saying I am new to linux...kinda. I've had shell accounts before, and done C programming and shell scripting in unix. I've even installed redhat, mandrake, ubuntu, distros on my computers. but I am totally new to setting up my own custom linux system. And it is really pissing me off to be honest. I thought I would be able to handle this, but everytime I look up an answer, I have like 20 more questions. When will I get to the bottom of this??

Okay well, right now I am just trying to compile the linux kernel. 2.6.13.4. I downloaded the Full from kernel.org. And there is no src directory! I think I figured out from the README that I need to somehow extract the /src first by typing make??? Well I am using windows right now, so I guess I am asking would I be able to compile the linux kernel using Cygwin?

So yeah this is where I am stuck. Havent even compiled yet. ehhh thanks for any help and wisdom you can share.

Been awhile since I compiled a kernel that wasn't a fresh install.
    But I believe you should have the kernel itself in /usr/src, and from there you can do your compilation.

make && make modules install

As for becoming a guru, how fast do you pick things up?