Find the answer to your Linux question:
Before I start, I'm a low-intermediate user- I'm familiar with Linux as an "end user" but don't know much at all about the nuts and bolts. I'm a hobbyist, though, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Do I *really* need isos to install?

Before I start, I'm a low-intermediate user- I'm familiar with Linux as an "end user" but don't know much at all about the nuts and bolts. I'm a hobbyist, though, so the nuts and bolts are exactly what I want to learn. Okay, my question:

I've noticed that in addition to the ISOs available for most distros (and NOT available for Mandrake 9.2... grr) the ftps also have a folder with what looks to be all of the files that would be on the cd. I've also noticed that pretty commonly these are more up to date than the currently available ISOs (again, mandrake 9.2), or the ISO is simply difficult to find (slackware).

What I'm wondering is, how can I use them to either homebrew my own CDs or install the distro without burning any cds? If there's a detailed how-to somebody could point me to, that would be great, but just a general outline would be helpful.

Linux Engineer
    Gentoo, my friend.. Gentoo...
    http://www.gentoo.org
    it d/l's and compiles everything on demand.. no bloat, no dependency problems... and you configure almost *everything* by hand (i.e. with a text editor and your knowledge of the manual/software/linux resources on the web)... their forums are a *great* place for support... and you will learn much, *much* more installing and configuring linux with gentoo than with any other distro other than building an LFS system... and you only need 1 ISO for Gentoo's install...
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

Just Joined!
    Checking out Gentoo's site, it does look pretty cool. Thanks.

However, it still doesn't really answer my original Q...

4. $spacer_open