Find the answer to your Linux question:
First of all I would like to say that I'm a total newbie in Linux. I would like to know if I can have two systems on one hard disk? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Linux on my Windows Xp

First of all I would like to say that I'm a total newbie in Linux.

I would like to know if I can have two systems on one hard disk? I have 80 gb disk which is devided into three drives ( c: d: and e: ). On drive c: I have windows xp. I was wondering if I could install Mandriva Linux 2006 on one of the remaining drives ( d: or e: )? Would Linux make any problems to windows xp or would windows xp make any problems to Linux? Thanks for your help guys

linux needs its own partitions (you have three partitions on your hard disk - C:, D:, E - one for Linux itself, and a swap partition (bit like Windows swapper.dat file). Linux needs to have these partitions formatted in a way it needs. So the Linux partition will need to be formatted as ext2 or ext3 or reiserfs, and the swap partition needs formatting as, you guessed it, a swap partition (this gets done for you as part of the instal). This means that any data you have on these partitions will be lost. Also, Windows does not admit the existance of anything but a MS operating system, so you will not be able to access your Linux partition from Winows, but you will be able to access windows (C from Linux (but there is a problem with writing from Linux to NTFS windows disks).

As to how big these two partitions need to be. Well, the Linux partition (which will contain all of the Linux bits and pieces) needs to be a minimum of about 2 and half gig (and that is a real MINIMUM, you really need at least 5 gb and 10 gb is a better start point) and the swap partition should be two times as big as the amount of RAM.

So you may find that you only have to "sacrifice" one of your windows partitions to make the two linux partitions.