Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I'm trying to install Mandrake 10.1, but I can't get the installer to begin. I've been just booting from the disk - which should work, from what I've read - ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    11

    Caldera DOS?


    I'm trying to install Mandrake 10.1, but I can't get the installer to begin. I've been just booting from the disk - which should work, from what I've read - but when I boot from the disk Caldera DOS starts and asks me for some command line stuff and I have no idea what to do at that point. I can't find any info about this online... I'm a totaly beginner so I know I could be doing something wrong. Does anyone happen to know how to work with Caldera to get the intallation started, or is there something else I need to do?

    Thanks,
    j.

  2. #2
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    floppy or CD??? what does it spit out at you??? can't help you w/o details.
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    11
    Sorry about the lack of detail there. I got my ISO from http://www.linuxiso.org/ and put it on a disk which IS bootable, so that's not the issue. As far as what it's spitting at me, I don't know exactly because it goes by so fast. It more or less says "Booting From Disk" and then a bunch of stuff and then "Starting Caldera DOS," at which point I'm just stuck...

    Is there some kinda DOS cammand I need to put in to run the disk? I just dunno. I'm just being careful with this installation. Dont wanna mess anything up...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User yourname3232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    262
    Unless you are going to try dual booting you really can't mess anything up. and try pressing <enter> and the installer should start.
    Registered GNU/Linux User #399198
    'Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.' -Steven Wright

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    11
    I've tried hitting enter, but no luck..

    I'm thinking maybe I should check and see if anything got currupted during download...

  7. #6
    Linux User yourname3232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    262
    Did you check the MD5 sum? If it says correct then you probabally have a corrupt image. I would try downloading it off a different mirror.
    Registered GNU/Linux User #399198
    'Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.' -Steven Wright

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •