Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, I'm having problems installing Mandrake Linux 9.1/9.2. I decided to switch from Debian Woody to Mandrake, because it's better for newbies. I'm a Linux Noob, BTW. Here's the problem. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake9.1 blackscreen/video config help

Hey, I'm having problems installing Mandrake Linux 9.1/9.2. I decided to switch from Debian Woody to Mandrake, because it's better for newbies. I'm a Linux Noob, BTW. Here's the problem. First, I installed with Mandrake 9.1. I didn't test the video or anything in the SUMMARY, I just rebooted. It would bring up the bootloader, and then I could choose Linux, and it would stay at a blackscreen. If i entered in failsafe mode, it would hangup at Loading Linux Kernel.

I tried again using 9.2. I tried configuring my video card. I was using a ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB. I can't configure it. I try different modules/drivers, and none of them work. Not even VGA or SVGA. Here's some error messages that I get:

An Error Occured
    Try changing some parameters

Cannot determine the screen layout

Error from xf86HandleConfigFile

And when I go through with the install, the same thing will happen that happened with 9.1. Ugh. I got debian woody to work, but I couldnt get X-Window to work.

Can someone please help me out? I don't want to give up on this great OS. I'm a developer and I want to start programming for Linux! Please help me out guys! and gals! Thanks!

Just Joined!
    I get the exact same prob with Mandrake 9.1 and 9.2.

My Specs:

Matrox Millenium G200 8mb
    Compaq Deskpro
    256mb pc100
    p3 500

RedHat 9.0 installed but I couldn't get apache working, but I prefer Mandrake anyway. Very configurable for the newb. I used to run it on my old HP vectra VL (P166)

Any help getting mandrake 9.2 working would be very appreciable.

Thanks