Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm pretty new to linux and I'm just trying to get a computer to run "Server Optimized Linux." Anytime I try and install any drivers in linux, I get this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Drivers

I'm pretty new to linux and I'm just trying to get a computer to run "Server Optimized Linux." Anytime I try and install any drivers in linux, I get this error, "No precompiled kernel interface was found to match your kernel." Then there is an option to have it compile a new kernel interface... Great... but it doesn't work because it says I haven't configured my kernel sources...
    Please help me configure my kernel sources or do whatever I have to do to install a driver.

Firstly, what kind of driver are you trying to install? Seccondly what version of linux are you using?

That error basicially means that you have to install the kernel-sources or kernel-headers package using your distro's Add/Remove software tool. Also, make sure the "gcc" and "make" or "gnu make" packages are installed.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!
    lol. thats what i'm talking about. I don't know what that means. I've tried many distribustions of linux and I can't install any drivers that it doesn't come with. I think SoL uses 2.6.6 and I'm trying to install a nvidia Nforce2 Lan driver from the website.
    How do I go about installing kernel headers and sources? And whats a "gcc" and how do i know if they are installed? Any help would be appretiated.

Hmm, from reading on SOL's pages, they use something called SoLrus to update packages. Now I am not familiar with this distro at all (Today is the 1st time I am hearing of it), so I suggest you do a bit of reading about it.

Now, the packages you need to install somehow using SoLrus or otherwise,