Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Is it ok to install any typical 32-bit OS (i.e. Fedora, SuSE) on a 64-bit machine? Any problems that will arise?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    14

    Another 64-bit question!


    Is it ok to install any typical 32-bit OS (i.e. Fedora, SuSE) on a 64-bit machine? Any problems that will arise?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    AFAIK 64-bit processors can run in 32-bit mode, but you won't have the optimized performance that 64-bit software would give you.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Another 64-bit question!

    Quote Originally Posted by dvergatal
    Is it ok to install any typical 32-bit OS (i.e. Fedora, SuSE) on a 64-bit machine? Any problems that will arise?
    Yes, it's ok, and no you shouldn't run into any problems. I run both 32-bit and 64-bit OSes and software on my AMD64. By the way, both Fedora and SuSE offer 64-bit versions.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    AFAIK 64-bit processors can run in 32-bit mode, but you won't have the optimized performance that 64-bit software would give you.
    Yes, however it's important to note that currently there aren't any programs that actually give optimized performance on an AMD64/EM64T processor. They're just recompiled without taking full advantage of the new 64-bit processor instructions or registers.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    AFAIK 64-bit processors can run in 32-bit mode, but you won't have the optimized performance that 64-bit software would give you.
    IIRC only AMD64's can do that.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by a thing
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    AFAIK 64-bit processors can run in 32-bit mode, but you won't have the optimized performance that 64-bit software would give you.
    IIRC only AMD64's can do that.
    AMD64's and Intel EM64T's can do that. Any processor that follows the x86_64 architecture fits this, which to the consumer market today means *all* 64-bit processors that aren't Macintosh G3/G4/G5. I doubt very seriously a regular consumer would buy a 64-bit-only processor like the Itanium.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •