Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am a linux newbie, and I would like to install Gentoo Linux. I have burnt both the package cd and the universal install cd but when I put ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Gentoo

Hi, I am a linux newbie, and I would like to install Gentoo Linux.

I have burnt both the package cd and the universal install cd but when I put the install CD in, after a while I get a command prompt.

I dont have a clue what to put in I have tried typing help but it doesnt really help

Any help appreciated!!!

C.Barber

You need to read the GENTOO HANDBOOK.

It tells you how to install.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

The gentoo install is difficult for a newbie, but I encourage you to keep trying. As dylunio said, you should read the gentoo handbook. In my opinion, it is one of the best written linux instruction guides out there, and if you follow it to the letter, then I *almost* guarantee you will have a fully working system.

Be warned that the gentoo installation will take a day or two to complete.....
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    If you want an easy Gentoo based system, try VLOS. It is Gentoo based so it has the power of Portage but you install it with a graphical installer (Anaconda - the Red Hat/Fedora installer).

Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith