Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hello everyone, I finally want to try Linux and as a webdesigner it would be great to have both windows and Linux running at the same time, so I tried ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10

    gzip error on apt-get update with coLinux


    Hello everyone,

    I finally want to try Linux and as a webdesigner it would be great to have both windows and Linux running at the same time, so I tried coLinux. But now when I want to run the command 'apt-get update' I get gzip errors:
    Code:
    apt-get update
    Get:1 http://security.debian.org stable/updates/main Packages [142kB]
    Ign http://security.debian.org stable/updates/main Packages
    99% [1 Packages gzip 0] [Connecting to ftp.us.debian.org][Connecting to www.backports.org]
    gzip: stdin: invalid compressed data--crc error
    
    gzip: stdin: invalid compressed data--length error
    Err http://security.debian.org stable/updates/main Packages
        Sub-process gzip returned an error code (1)
    99% [Connecting to ftp.us.debian.org][Connecting to www.backports.org]
    ...
    What's happening and what do I do to resolve it?

    Thanks,
    Paul

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10
    I don't know if this has anything to do whit it, but I don't get replies when I ping... When I ping for example google.com, it shows the IP, but no replies and keeps waiting:
    Code:
    ping google.com
    PING google.com (72.14207.99): 56 data bytes
    
    When I abort the command by pressing ctrl+c, the next message is returned
    
    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    53 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% data loss

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South India, 79 E 11 N
    Posts
    109
    your networking seems to be faulty.
    see wiki and check them.
    tv
    Be happy. Life is too short to be unhappy!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10
    heck, I followed countless of documents to set up coLinux and networking in it, but the result described above is the best I could get. I was hoping someone could come up with some specific information based my description. I don't understand why the DNS server can be reached to look up IPs, but nothing more?

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South India, 79 E 11 N
    Posts
    109
    am working with xp sp2.
    yester day when i tried i could not connect initially and while foolong with netwrk propertis then i found a tab to define the mtu value.
    found it to be 1500
    i though i will altre it and changed it to 1492.
    suddenly it connected.

    still my update command did not work.
    i am wondering if it has something to do with firewall in xp though the s/w functions as a virtual network and so not likely to be so to my newbie mind.
    Be happy. Life is too short to be unhappy!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10
    I also set this MTU value of the TAP adapter to 1492 and indeed the icon in the tray telling it to be not connected dissapeared. But with no further effect. I found a page saying to ignore the not connected icon seemingly this is correct.

    The page I tried lastly is http://orangevolt.com/wordpress/arch...for-beginners/ I also tried these http://enterprise.linux.com/article....1&tid=11&tid=4
    http://www.atlink.it/~conti/?page_id=12
    and several more including the colinux wiki...

    This one looks interesting too, but not yet tried it http://www.linux-mag.com/content/view/2173/ I quickly looked through it and saw the special consideration about disabling the Checksum Offload. But disabling didn't help...

    Also disabling the windows firewall had no effect...

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South India, 79 E 11 N
    Posts
    109
    right now ithink i have solved my problem.
    it seems to be dhcp.
    one needs to have the dhcp application 9in debian it is pump)
    i checked and it is not present in Debian-3OrO.ext3.1gb
    further research led me to a later version with pump- Debian-3.0r2.ext3-mit-backports.1gb.bz2 (28MB) from
    http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...group_id=98788.

    have downloaded that.
    going to try.

    it may be worthwhile if your problem is also dhcp

    tv
    Be happy. Life is too short to be unhappy!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10
    I already have this version... so I doubt it will help

    Btw the gzip version is 1.3.2 of 2001, could it be that this is outdated?

    I have had data transfered (saw it on my windows DU meter) so the network setting work so it seems?!

    Here's another link with setup instructions
    http://www.informit.com/guides/conte...seqNum=25&rl=1

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10
    huh, suddenly the "apt-get update" command finished successully, this was just after I checked the version of gzip with "gzip -V version"
    Pinging runs succesfully too!
    My config is
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <colinux>
        <block_device index="0" path="\DosDevices\c&#58;\coLinux\Debian-3.0r2.ext3-mit-backports.1gb" 
        enabled="true" />
        <block_device index="1" path="\DosDevices\c&#58;\coLinux\swap_256Mb" 
        enabled="true" />
        <bootparams>root=/dev/cobd0</bootparams>
        <initrd path="initrd.gz" />
        <image path="vmlinux" />
        <memory size="256" />
       <network index="0" type="tap" name="Local Area Connection 3"/>
    </colinux>
    I install coLinux as a windows service with a .bat file containing
    Code:
    colinux-daemon.exe -c default.colinux.xml --install-service "Cooperative Linux"
    and I run this service with another .bat
    Code:
    colinux-console-fltk
    I have my connection bridged with the TAP adapter as "TAP";
    The TAP adapter has the default settings (MTU is 1500))
    I have my internet's DNS server IP in /etc/resolve.conf (just the IP, not preceded by "nameserver" or so and I don't know if this is necessary, but read it somewhere );
    my /etc/network/interfaces file holds
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    everything else is braked;

    I have windows XP SP2 and my firewall is on (no virsusscanner); I have an ADSL internet connection; ...

    I just ran both "apt-get update" and "apt-get upgrade" succesfully. And now installing everything listed on http://www.informit.com/guides/conte...seqNum=26&rl=1
    including KDE (don't forget its core: 'apt-get install kde-core', else 'apt-get install kde' will return errors).
    This seems to work!

    But what a bummer, the processed stopped because there was not enough space left on device. What can I do about this?

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    10
    Okay I have 4GB of space now, thanks to http://wiki.colinux.org/cgi-bin/ExpandingRoot
    Code:
    1&#41; Download the larger, preformatted filesystem of your choice from &#91;WWW&#93; http&#58;//gniarf.nerim.net/colinux/fs &#40;Remember that 4095Mb is the limit if you are using FAT32 &#40;and not NTFS&#41; on the windows partition where the filesystem will be stored.&#41;
    
    2&#41; Unpack the new filesystem using the bunzip2 program of your choice, such as 7zip &#91;WWW&#93; http&#58;//7zip.org
    
    3&#41; Edit your colinux.xml config file. Add a line to load that filesystem on an unused cobd device, e.g.
    
          <block_device index="3" path="\DosDevices\c&#58;\Program Files\colinux\fs_4095Mb" enabled="true" />
    
    4&#41; Boot into colinux. Make a mountpoint and mount the new filesystem from the cobd device. E.g.
    
          mkdir /mnt/test
          mount /dev/cobd3 /mnt/test  &#40;that's /dev/cobd/3 on GenToo&#41;
    
    5&#41; Copy the old filesystem onto the new filesystem using cp -ax. Once it finishes, unmount and exit colinux. E.g.
    
          cp -ax / /mnt/test
          umount /mnt/test
          shutdown -h now
    
    6&#41; Change your colinux.xml config file to use the new filesystem as root and delete the line referring to the new filesystem you added in a previous step. &#40;You might want to zip up the old filesystem for backup purposes.&#41; E.g.
    
          <block_device index="0" path="\DosDevices\c&#58;\Program Files\colinux\fs_4095Mb" enabled="true" />
    
    7&#41; Reboot colinx. You should have a larger filesystem &#40;use "df -h" to check&#41;. You're done.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •