Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am currently building our images on Dell Optiplex 170L's without a problem. We shipped an image to a customer who is using Dell Optiplex 520's. After the Gost session ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    EIDE to SATA Hard Drive


    I am currently building our images on Dell Optiplex 170L's without a problem. We shipped an image to a customer who is using Dell Optiplex 520's. After the Gost session the customer is getting a message:

    "Unable to mount root on 00"

    Are they getting this problem because the Dell's we use, 170L's, have EIDE hard drives and the Dell's the customer is using, Dell 520L's, have SATA hard drives? Also, is there a quick fix for this problem?

    Thanks,

    Wade

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Linux has no trouble with SATA drives; usually they're just mounted as SCSI (i.e. /dev/sda). If the drives are set up in a RAID configuration however, that can cause problems.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Linux has no trouble with SATA drives; usually they're just mounted as SCSI (i.e. /dev/sda). If the drives are set up in a RAID configuration however, that can cause problems.
    If thatís the case then shouldn't the image have loaded just fine? At the least he might have had to use Kudzu.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by wbdune
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Linux has no trouble with SATA drives; usually they're just mounted as SCSI (i.e. /dev/sda). If the drives are set up in a RAID configuration however, that can cause problems.
    If thatís the case then shouldn't the image have loaded just fine? At the least he might have had to use Kudzu.
    I'm not familiar with how images work, honestly. Are the device names hard-coded? If for instance the image wants to be installed on /dev/hda but instead the device is /dev/sda, that would cause issues.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    I'm not familiar with how images work, honestly. Are the device names hard-coded? If for instance the image wants to be installed on /dev/hda but instead the device is /dev/sda, that would cause issues.
    Then the fix should be as simple as gong to the /dev directory and changing it to the correct hardrive or is there somthing I need to do with the loader?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by wbdune
    Then the fix should be as simple as gong to the /dev directory and changing it to the correct hardrive or is there somthing I need to do with the loader?
    Well, as I said I'm not familiar with how harddrive images work, but if the images are relying on that hard-coded device name for the harddrive, that might indeed be your problem. If that's the case, then changing the name of the device could fix it. If it doesn't, hang around the forum for a little while and perhaps someone with more drive image experience will pop in.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •