Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i am a total noob to linux to so please bear with me. i had win xp installed on my comp and out of bordum i decided to install linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Grub Hard Disk error

i am a total noob to linux to so please bear with me. i had win xp installed on my comp and out of bordum i decided to install linux (RED HAT 8.0). i did some research (but apparently not enought) and installed linux. but everytime i boot my comp i get a GRUB Hard Disk Error. is there anyway to fix this. i cannot boot into windows whatsoever and i can only run linux from the boot disk. i am fine with running linux i just want my files.

i have two hds:
    hd1 has two partitions C: (has windows on it) D: (has prog files on it)
    hd2 has three partions E: (music files) F: (whree i installed linux) G: (movies)

i understand that my ntloader is probaly erased. is there anyway of getting grub to work right?

any help will be appreciated.

Linux Guru
    Your ntloader is not erased, it resides on hda1 (C:).
    Just some questions:
    You say you installed linux on "F:". Does that mean that you can see F: in windows with all linux files? In that case you installed it with the wrong filesystem, which seriously impares functionality and performance. (The reason you shouldn't be able to see it in windows is that windows is unable to read ext2, the file system that linux normally uses)
    Exactly what error does GRUB give you and when? Is it when GRUB starts or is it when you try and boot windows?
    Could you post your grub.conf file? Its complete path is /boot/grub/grub.conf. Please post it in "code" tags.

Try entering GRUB's command line mode (press C, I think... It says on the title screen what key to press). Then enter these two commands:
    Code:
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1
    boot
    See what happens, and post any error messages here.

Linux Guru