Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
How Do i make my computer boot the suse linux install disk? (i have a celeron 400) aside from this computer. it has 200 mb of ram. so how do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    cky
    cky is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    51

    How Do I Make My Computer Boot SUSE Linux 10.0 To Install


    How Do i make my computer boot the suse linux install disk?

    (i have a celeron 400) aside from this computer.

    it has 200 mb of ram. so how do i make it boot the install cd?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    When the computer boots, hit DEL or F2 or whatever, to enter the BIOS setup. Here, make sure cdrom is set to 1st boot device.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    cky
    cky is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    51
    i have already set the cd drive to the firt boot device and it still wont work.

    is it possible that the cd rom drive might be too old to boot from a cd?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Did you burn the Suse images (.iso files) as images or did you just burn the iso's to disk?

    ISO's are special - they need to be burnt as images. Check this thread out if you are having problems with burning an image: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-20850.html

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #5
    cky
    cky is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    51
    i burned all my disks right but they still wont boot i even tried my windows xp disk and that wont even boot.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    Well, I hate to say this, but there's not enough info given about how you set it to boot from the BIOS, etc etc. PEBKAC.
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

  8. #7
    cky
    cky is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    51
    what kind of info do you want?

    and ill send it to you right away!

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    if you are having problems booting from a cd, try a boot floppy, this is a good one

    http://linux.simple.be/tools/sbm

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •