Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1

    mandriva2006 problem


    hi

    install mandriva in my optiplex gx110 256ram 50HD Everything is ok but when restart the system don´t boot

    send my this messeges
    L 40 40 40 40 40 40 and stop

    any suggestion

    thank

    yakumo

    sorry for my English

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Your bootloader was not installed properly. Reboot with the first Mandriva CDROM and go through the install process again. Nothing will install, but it will take you to the point where your bootloader is installed. Reinstall it, and reboot. See if that fixes it.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    thank´s techieMoe

    just for Curiosity where put the bootloader in the MBR or /ROOT
    because when run reinstall bootloader send a Message

    /run program can not output in /root/tmp/.drakx-stderr.1235

    yakumo

    my bootloader in the MBR

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Install the bootloader to your Master Boot Record (MBR), not the first sector of the /boot partition. That's used if you have another drive you use from which to boot.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    I put the bootloader in the MBR all the time put there

  7. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Apparently the install program wasn't able to install the bootloader onto your MBR. Have you tried installing GRUB instead of LILO? It should be an option during the install.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #7
    You believe that it could try to start for the console

  9. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by yakumo
    You believe that it could try to start for the console
    I don't understand what you're asking.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  10. #9
    ok ok sorry

    can boot the system for the console

  11. #10
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by yakumo
    ok ok sorry

    can boot the system for the console
    You could (in theory) boot the system from another bootable CDROM, by passing it a root=/dev/hdc1 command. (Where /dev/hdc1 is your Linux root partition.) This option is only available on some Linux distributions however. I've never tried it in SuSE.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •