Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am brand new to Linux and trying to install and use FC4 in a dual boot environment with Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition. Initially performed installation of Windows 2003 with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

GRUB nevers starts, what's the solution?

I am brand new to Linux and trying to install and use FC4 in a dual boot environment with Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition.

Initially performed installation of Windows 2003 with no issues.

This installation was on a drive dedicated to W2k3.

Followed by successful?? installation of FC4 on a different drive.

After rebooting I can not access the FC4 installation...Windows 2003 keeps re-starting as if it was the only OS installed on the system.

My impression is that the issue resides around GRUB and MBR previously laid down by the Windows 2003 installation.

Multiple re-installations of FC4 report success, however, GRUB never starts and therefore, am not able to either start FC4 by default or select it as an alternative operating system.

Any help in resolving this issue would be appreciated.

Please, keep in mind that I am brand new to Linux.

Thanks

I suspect that what is happening is that FDC4 is putting grub on the master boot record (mbr) of the second hard disk (the one that Linux is being installed on), but that you are still booting from the first hard disk (the one with windoze on it).

Thing is, every hard disk has a mbr at its very begining. So, I suspect that on the windows hard disk's mbr you have a windows loader (as supplied by Uncle Bill) and on the linux hard disk you have grub (as supplied by fedora Core Linux).

Solution: