Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi List; I would like to install multiple distros on a single box so at boot time I can select fedora vs suse vs freeBSD, etc. I would also like ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    38

    Can I install multiple distros on a single box


    Hi List;

    I would like to install multiple distros on a single box so at boot time I can select fedora vs suse vs freeBSD, etc.

    I would also like to share non system filesystems like /home, /tmp, /opt...

    Any thoughts, recommendations, how to links, etc. ?

    Thanks in advance for your help

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by kkempter
    Hi List;

    I would like to install multiple distros on a single box so at boot time I can select fedora vs suse vs freeBSD, etc.

    I would also like to share non system filesystems like /home, /tmp, /opt...

    Any thoughts, recommendations, how to links, etc. ?

    Thanks in advance for your help
    yes you can do this. you can share /home and your swap partition safely. /usr, /tmp, /opt may cause problems (as both distros don't necessarily have the same programs/files or install them in the same places).

    to have the option to boot either, you install a boot loader...usually grub or lilo. this bootloader looks at a configuration file to see where your different distros (OS's) are located and from there it loads them once you select it from a menu within the program. the bootloader starts before any of the OS's can. within the bootloader, you'll need to add Windows as well, if you have it installed too, so you can choose windows also.

    hope this helps some!

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie jpalfree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Montreal, CA
    Posts
    198
    I have about 4ish distros on my computer so I have a few tips for you.
    1) when you install the second and third distros you won't have to install grub again and again. during the installation i suggest you tell it to install the boot loader to a floppy or at least the first sector of the root partition of the distro. Not the MBR. you can edit the grub menu list (grub.conf or menu.list) later to add these distros. if you don't know how to edit these files, search the forums. if you are still confused post here again.
    2) concerning sharing the home partion. I am sharing my home partition, but not the actual home folders for each distro. this is on purpose since hidden configuration files are kept in the home folder and if every distro modifies these there may be complications(here are my sources). I reccomend setting that up after installation by setting your user's home folder to be different for each distro. eg: username: you. on suse home is /home/you_suse. on fedora home is /home/you_fedora...or whatever you wish.
    3) /tmp and swap are fine to share, just edit the /etc/fstab after installation

    that's about it. good luck.
    Avatar from xkcd.com, a hilarious computer related webcomic.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    help me to install multiple linux distros

    I already have Mandrivia, Knoppix and Windows on my 80 GB harddrive.

    when i try to install freespire, it is is not getting installed.

    I have AMD sempron, Asus KM 400 chipset, via,
    256 mb ram, 80 gb hdd, 2 gb swap partition, three windows FAT 32 partition, two ext 3 partition.

    I tried fedora, suse, ubunutu, freespire, debian, no distro is getting installed.

    I am fed up. can any one help me please!

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !

    check this thread.
    a bit more discussion in this thread.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    tanjore
    Posts
    5
    yes we can do that

    suppose you have installed fedora on /dev/hda1
    and redhat09 on /dev/hda5

    copy the files initrd.mg, system.map,vmlinuz (note it has some exensions also)
    to the boot partition of /dev/hda1(fedora)
    and edit the grub.conf file
    add those lines

    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.20-8 ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.20-8.img


    note (hd0,0) for hda1 (hd0,1) for hda2
    and (hd1,0) for hdb1 etc
    reboot
    Caution if u do some thing wrong the alternate linux wont work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •