Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
when i install redhat 10.1 it say an error "could not uncompress second stage ram disk .this is probably and hardware error while reading the data this may be coused ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation help install redhat 10.1 !!


    when i install redhat 10.1 it say an error "could not uncompress second stage ram disk .this is probably and hardware error while reading the data this may be coused by a hardware faiture or a linux kenel by" and then it say "Fatal error giving to ssecond stage".i don't known what's error and what's can i fix because this is the first i install linux .i used CPU P4 2.66 ghz ,HDD SATA SEAGATE 80 gb and ASUS mother boad .Can you tell me what do i do ?thank very much

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    There is no such thing as Red Hat 10.1. What distro war you trying to install? This will give us some more helpful information.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Since the edit button doesn't seem to want to work, I meant to say "What distro are you trying to install?"

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie GNOME_n00b's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    142
    dvty
    your dvd/cd needs cleaning. or there's a problem with the cd/dvd itself.


    bryansmith
    i had the same problem before. press the refresh button on your browser after you've clicked on 'edit'.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Thanks for the tip, I'll keep that in mind.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3
    i am sorry ,i wrote wrong about distro .it is not redhat 10.1,IT IS MANDRAKE 10.1 .Please help me,thank very much!

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie GNOME_n00b's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by dvty
    i am sorry ,i wrote wrong about distro .it is not redhat 10.1,IT IS MANDRAKE 10.1 .Please help me,thank very much!
    i have...so have your cleaned the disk yet and tried again?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3
    I hear some body said may be the MANDRAKE 10.1haven't driver of SATA hard disks .I don't known ! Do you thing so ? I'll try to clean the CD and install again...thank!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •